Fiction and Writing

NaNoWriMo 2015

This was my fourth NaNoWriMo. I’d won two, and walked away from the last one due to work commitments. Due to my hopeful publishing schedule I’d planned on writing Witch Infernal this month anyway, so I figured hey, I’ll do NaNo!

I’d somehow managed to forget how stressful NaNo can be. It has not gone well. I started with illness, I had another week off due to another illness, my insomnia kicked my ass and work has been all over the place. I did validate what I’ve written so far a couple of days ago. I think it was 53k ish. I still have 2/3 of Witch Infernal left to write, but I’m exhausted and I don’t have it in me to make that huge push right now. I need to look after myself.

This will definitely be my last attempt at NaNo. I love some of the wordsprints, they’re great for my competitive spirit, but otherwise it’s not how I work and it doesn’t do me any good. I don’t write every day. I work odd hours, I sleep odder hours, I’ll likely do the sprints next year but leave it at that. I know I can write 100k in a month, if I sleep ok and work is reasonably predictable. I’ve written close on 5 novels this year, along with some 6 or 7 novellas, and 60+ serial episodes. That’s not a bad figure. I’d have liked it to have been 6 full novels. I wanted to get another published, but due to the deep depression this spring that couldn’t have happened.

I’m really proud of the people who have succeeded with NaNoWriMo. It’s done a lot of people a lot of good, and that’s amazing. The community is fantastic and I’ve met some awesome people thanks to NaNo. I’m certainly not against it as a concept, it just doesn’t work with my schedule and way of writing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

