Fiction and Writing

Month Of Reflection.

December is traditionally something of a month of reflection. It’s the close of this year, and the beginning of the next.

I’ve been looking back over this year, and looking forward to the next. This year didn’t go quite as I’d planned, it had a really dark start. I spent some four or five months recovering from burning out that resulted in serious suicidal thoughts and a deep depression.

Since then, things have been going quite nicely. I didn’t get Infernal Hunt started this year, not published anyway, but that’s fine. This way I’ll release the first three books together next year and it’ll be wonderful! I’ve commissioned the cover artist, I have a hopeful promotional plan, and they have (rough unedited) blurbs!

 

InfernalHead

Genre: Supernatural Thriller.

Will appeal to: Readers looking for fast-paced supernatural thrillers and urban fantasy. Particularly those who enjoyed the Hellequin series, or S.M. Reine’s Descent series.

Planned release date: Spring 2016.

Projected series length: Five books have been planned thus far, with three written. It is expected to reach seven or more.

infernalties

Infernal Ties is the opening novella, sitting at some 30,000 words. This is a standalone novella and is not required reading for the rest of the series.

Infernal Ties begins the larger plot.

The Hawke twins are hunters, they keep the supernal community of Prague in line and they’re good at it. When Quin doesn’t come home after the simple task of disposing of a rogue lycan, Evie begins to worry.

Evelyn Hawke is an experienced hunter, and a force to be reckoned with. Nothing and no one will stop her from getting her twin back. She’s forced to dive into the supernal world and work with those she despises to find Quin, and dig him out of the very large hole he’s got himself into.

Little does she know that her actions have far reaching consequences.

 

infernalbonds

Infernal Bonds is the first full novel in the Infernal Hunt series. Readers can start with eitherInfernal Ties, or Infernal Bonds.

Not only is it a blood moon, but there’s a rare celestial alignment that means the veils between the worlds are far more fragile than usual. That allows chaos to reign over the city for one night. Shades play pranks on tourists, redcaps take advantage and run wild, and two sinfully sexy hellhounds slip through.

The redcaps are easily wrangled, the shades are mildly amusing, but the hellhounds are another thing entirely. They evade capture and remain in the city once the moon sets. Two hounds, with two entirely different agendas. One wants freedom. The other wants to bring about hell on Earth. And he has help.

witchinfernal

Witch Infernal is book 3 but doesn’t have any description due to spoilers.

 

Once I wrap up the first draft of Witch Infernal then I’ll start writing my fun project Eternal Bloodlines. 

 

EB Banner

 

The myths say that long ago the gods roamed the Earth among the people. The gods chose people who were most like themselves, who carried the attributes they held in highest regard, and together they produced offspring. So the witches were born. Each bloodline carrying different skills and potency.

Things must balance. One bloodline was born with the gift to break magic. They became witch-hunters. Their mission to rid the world of the abominations. To restore the Earth to its natural state, free of the gods’ influence.

Iona is born of Hekate, the goddess of witches, the strongest bloodline of all. They are born with the ability to purify the bloodline of other witches, to bring about the full potential. Her ancestors were hunted by her fellow witches and the hunters, they feared and envied their gifts, and their higher connection to the gods.

Iona has buried her secret deep, always moving, never forming true connections. It’s a lonely life.  Unfortunately, secrets have a way of escaping.

 

I’m really excited about these projects and next year! I spent a lot of time reading this year. I read about 6 books a week for a few months, alongside a helluva lot of blog posts and websites from industry experts. I want to be a successful author, I want to reach as many readers as possible and make people happy with my fiction! I’ve learnt so much this year, about the industry, about my genres, about the craft of writing and what I want to do here.

I’ve been an indie author for a few years, I have multiple pseudonyms, but I feel as though I’m finally ready to really step up.

At a mental and spiritual level I’m better that I think I’ve ever been. My mental scars and wounds are healing, I’m spiritually balanced and really happy. Physically my knees are falling apart but eh, that’s not the focus here. The focus is on the wonderful progress I’ve made, and the people I’ve met this year. I’m where I need to be. I have many fantastic people around me, in person and online, and I’m looking forward to a fun and exciting 2016.

Leave a Reply

