Fiction and Writing

Beautiful Books – Infernal Bonds

The wonderfully passionate and charming Cait at Paper Fury is doing a blog link-up for people to talk about the novel they wrote during NaNoWriMo. How could I resist? A chance to meet awesome authors, and talk about my Infernal Hunt books. 😀

Without further ado, here are the 10 questions. As I wrote 2/3 of Infernal Bonds and half of Witch Infernal throughout NaNoWriMo I’ll talk about Infernal Bonds. That and Witch Infernal is book 3, so I don’t want to share spoilers!

 

  • On a scale of 1 (worst) to 10 (best), how did the book turn out? Did anything defy your expectations?

Definitely a 9. I’m super happy with how this book has turned out, I was really worried about nailing the voice and the style, but I’m over the moon with it. It gained a couple of sub-plots and scenes I wasn’t expecting, and the romantic side moved a little differently to expected. Lysander the hellhound has come out differently, but in the most amazingly wonderful way. I want one!

  • Comparative title time: what published books, movies, or TV shows are like your book? (Ex: Inkheart meets X-Men.)

Oh gods I’m so bad at these! Supernatural meets Dresden Files with a splash of S.M Reine’s Descent series.

  • Do you enjoy working with deadlines and pressure (aka NaNoWriMo)? Or do you prefer to write-as-you’re-inspired?

I’m definitely a write when inspired writer. Trying to force myself to write leads to stress and it all becomes horrible. Fortunately I do write quickly, even with varying stresses and illnesses I wrote some 60,000 words during November. 🙂

  • How do you go about editing? Give us an insight into your editing process.

First I compile the Scrivener doc into a Word doc. Then I put to one side for at least 10 days, it can be a couple of months depending on my workload and publishing schedule.

Then I go through and fix stupid typos, glaring consistency errors, plot holes I spot, anything that I see really. That’s done in one pass.

Once I’ve done that I hand it over to my professional editor. I have aphasia so my grammar is appalling. He does a quick copy edit, because the grammar’s so bad it distracts him (oops). Then he does a full developmental edit.

I go over his notes and fix up the issues he’s identified. I usually add about 10,000 words during that round. I definitely under-write but I budget that into my editing time and effort.

From there, my editor does a really nitpicky line-editing pass. That’s where he makes sure the character’s voices are absolutely spot, all the sentences flow as the need to, etc. I go over it and fix any little bits I need to.

Then it goes into the 5 or so rounds of copy editing and proofreading. I have absolute faith in my editor for those, the aphasia means I wouldn’t know bad grammar if I saw it anyway. So I let him handle all of that, then it gets formatted. Proofread again. Then publish.

  • What aspect of your story needs the most work?

I need to extend the action scenes. My first drafts are always too light and short with the action scenes. I get too excited and don’t have the patience to figure out the logistics, and tactics and such when doing the first draft.

  • What aspect of your story did you love the most?

I love the character relationships. Kadrix is a lot of fun to write, and Elise is wonderful. I want a Lysander. I really enjoyed writing how they worked and came together and evolved as a cast. They’re a great bunch.

  • Give us a brief run down on your main characters and how you think they turned out. Do you think they’ll need changes in edits?

Evie is the protagonist. It’s told from her point of view. She’s a determined, passionate, hunter, with a few issues. I’m so happy with how she turned out. At first I was a bit worried she’d come off as too cold and calculating but she’s really come into her own.

Kadrix really leapt off the page, he’s the elf alchemist that Evie and Quin deal with and get help from. He’s just so very himself. There are some fun exchanges with him, he makes me smile bless him.

I’ve already gushed over how wonderful Lysander the hellhound is!

Quin’s a real sweetheart, he’s Evie’s twin and a hunter. He’s Evie’s balance. He’s smiley, kind, charming, and always looks on the positive side.

Elise is another that really came into her own. She’s a priestess and Evie’s best friend. She’s kickass, kind, wise, passionate, she’s absolutely wonderful.

  • What are your plans for this novel once you finish editing? More edits? Finding beta readers? Querying? Self-publishing? Hiding it in a dark hole forever?

Once I’ve done my round of edits it’ll be handed over to my editor. It’ll go through all the professional edits then be published hopefully next spring.

  • Share a favourite snippet!

Argh these are always so hard to choose!

He ducked down one of the older narrow streets with cobble stones down the first section of the road and crumbling tarmac on the footpath. The plain walls towered overhead in more subdued colours than the square. There was no one else down the road and I was gaining on him. I almost ran into him when he stopped dead on the corner and turned to face me, his lips pulled back into a mischievous smile. “Evelyn, darling, so good to see you.”
There was a pull to him, his voice was smoother than the finest silk. I couldn’t imagine how many women had fallen at his feet, I told myself that I wasn’t going to be one of them.
My resolve faltered when he strode up to me, his eyes dancing with mischief. He smelled of hot metal and petrichor, not that I had much of a chance to enjoy it. He grabbed my left hand and sliced it open with a small stiletto knife. I didn’t get the opportunity to pull back from him, he held me firm as he cut open his own palm and pushed our fresh cuts together. The smile never left his face. I went to punch him in the jaw but he took off down the street before I’d pulled myself together.
I was in shock. My mind was reeling. My palm stung like a sonofabitch, but the cut was already healing. There was a new sensation in the back of my mind, a wriggling feeling of fear.

  • What are your writing goals and plans for 2016?

I’ll be starting on my fun project, Eternal Bloodlines next. That’s something I’m writing to purge my brain. No worried about editing, or publishing, just pure fun. Once that’s done and I’m refreshed and raring to go again, I’ll likely write the next Infernal Hunt book. I’m hoping to get my Powdered Ink series started too – that’s much like Lara Croft, if she were an alchemist.

The first three Infernal Hunt books will be published next year, hopefully in spring. I’d love to get 5 books written next year. We’ll see what happens though. 🙂

 

If you want to join in with this great blog link-up and meet new authors, then click the pretty button below!

PaperFury

4 thoughts on “Beautiful Books – Infernal Bonds

  1. It’s awesome that you’re so positive about how the story and the characters turn out 🙂 So many writers I know just groan at their first draft but it’s refreshing to see something difference with you! This sounds like a really neat story! best of luck with the publishing ^ ^

    dimensionsofmyuniverse.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

