Fiction and Writing

Reading List.

I’m an avid reader, I tend to go through phrases where I devour a book a day, and when I drop down to perhaps one a week. I’m currently firmly in the former, although I’m trying to hold back and get more writing done.

I thought I’d share what’s currently in my to be read heap. I tend to read urban fantasy and paranormal thrillers, they’re what I write, and what I love. By some miracle I’ve managed to strip down my heap to twenty or so books, that could be less depending on how I like some of the series I’ve picked up.

At the moment I’m reading The Final Formula series. I’ve read and thoroughly enjoyed the first two books, I’m 40% or so of the way through book 2.5, which I’m also really enjoying. It’s from a different point of view to the main books and it’s really fun seeing the world from this character’s view. This is a great series, I discovered it when book one came up for free on Bookbub. I have to admit, the cover didn’t really appeal to me (yes, I do judge books by their covers), but the title and blurb grabbed me. I’m so glad they did, I adore this series and will definitely be re-reading it a few times over.

I picked up the first book in the Mercy Thompson series. It’s one of those series that I’ve heard a lot about but never really got around to myself, I felt like now was the time I dig in. The blurb didn’t quite grab me, I had the suspicion it may be a little cliche and romance heavy, but we’ll see.

Next on my reading list is the first book in the Eldritch Files series by Pheadra Weldon. This is another one that I’ve seen around a lot and thought it was about time I added it to my list. The blurb sounds like a pretty classic urban fantasy so I’m curious to see how the author handles that.

I stumbled across The Iron Druid series, I think someone mentioned it a while back, maybe? Either way, I stumbled across it and had to have it. The concept and blurb sounds like something I’d love so I’m pretty excited about this one. It has an Irish male lead, mythology, snark, it sounds fantastic, here’s hoping it lives up to my expectations.

Immortal Reign is another book I got from Bookbub, I didn’t realise until after I’d picked it up that it’s actually book 2 in a series, so I’m hoping I don’t need to read book 1 first. The premise sounds very cool, Judas Escariot is trying to get his silver coins back and there are other immortals in his way, to give it a really bad summary. It sounds like a kick-ass urban fantasy with a nice little twist. I’m expecting lots of actions, tension, a really high energy fun read.

I found a book called Red Hot Steele that’s another start of a series. It sounds like a lot of fun, an unusual pairing, lots of snark, plenty of action, and some romance – they’re my expectations at least. Given the main characters are police detective sorts I have an idea in my head of what I’m getting into, so we’ll see what fresh twists the author gives it.

City in Embers is another one of those special kid gets hired by secret government agency books that I’m a touch leery of, but I want to see where it goes and how it’s handled. I think this one came from Bookbub too, maybe. This one’s lower on my list because I have lower expectations for it, I’m expecting a tried and tested romantic subplot, ass-kicking, and the usual snark because well she’s special but has a dark history. Hopefully it’ll surprise me and give me another series to love and gush over.

Someone spoke really highly of Cinder Spires by Jim Butcher so I grabbed a copy of that. I haven’t read The Dresden Files but I’m really curious to see how this story plays out. It’s not my usual sort of read, but then neither was The Raven Cycle and that quickly became my favourite series.

There are lots of other books on my to be read heap, but these are the ones I have lined up for the near future. I’ll likely report back and tell you what I thought and what I learnt. 🙂

What are you reading at the moment? What are you looking forward to reading next?

2 thoughts on “Reading List.

  1. Ooo, you like The Raven Cycle? Whenever I mention that series no one knows what I’m talking about. It’s a really fantastic, underrated series, from a really fantastic, underrated author. MORE PEOPLE NEED TO READ IT. (also, #savegansey)

    Right now I’m reading Killer Instinct, which I’m finding pretty interesting. The way the MC thinks is what I think I find so interesting.

    Thanks for stopping by Writing on a Vintage Typewriter!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I LOVE The Raven Cycle! I don’t usually read YA but I’d heard so many good things about Maggie Stiefvater that I had to try it. I’m so glad I did, it’s an amazing series on so many levels. I’m kinda dreading reading The Raven King when it comes out, I don’t want the series to end!

      I’m not familiar with Killer Instinct but I’ll definitely go and have a look. Thank for stopping by 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

