Fiction and Writing

Tag You’re It: Writing Questions.

The wonderful Mollie tagged me into this, so I’m here to answer some questions about my writing. 

When did you first start writing? Was being a writer something you always aspired to?

I didn’t start writing properly until I was 22. I didn’t have the focus to do anything longer than a paragraph, maybe a whole page if I was having a really good day, until then. I was a professional dog trainer at the time and I was out with a couple of dogs when I had the idea to do a collaborative story with my best friend. It wouldn’t go away, so I text him, and that’s how it started. I was hooked on writing from that evening on. 

Nope, I’d planned on being a dog trainer and riding instructor up until my mid-twenties when the whole writer thing started to seem viable. That and it had become something of an obsession by then. 

What genre do you write?

Urban fantasy and paranormal thrillers. They’re fast-paced, action-packed fantasies set in the modern day, with strong kick-ass women and sexy men. 😀

Can you tell us a little about your current work in progress? When did you start working on this project?

I’m currently working on Witch Infernal which is book 3 in my Infernal Hunt series. It’s set here in Prague, and is a fast-paced etc etc. I can’t say too much about the plot because it’s book 3, but it’s led by Evie Hawke who’s wonderfully stubborn, protective, determined, pig-headed, sensual, infuriating, aggressive, and in a character I’m really happy with. I started working on it in mid-November. 

What was your first piece that you can remember writing? What was it about?

Hhhmmm I started a story about 8 shifters, 4 light, 4 dark, they kept everything in balance. I got two pages written before my focus died. 

What’s the best part about writing?

Losing myself to the world, the characters, the plot. When I become completely immersed and everything unravels drags me in deeper. 

What’s the worst part about writing?

When it just won’t flow, and the words refuse to pop up, and you end wrangling your muse for 3 hours to achieve 200 words. 

What’s the name of your favourite character and why?

Gagh that’s so hard! Kadrix the alchemist elf makes me laugh, he’s a snarky little git who often brings levity whether he means to or not. Elise is a wonderfully dedicated and kick-ass priestess. She’s calm, wise, kind, caring, and downright scary!

How much time a day/week do you get to write? When is the best time for you to write (morning or night)?

I write best in the evenings, I’m far less likely to be able to write while the sun’s up. As to how much time I get, that differs day to day, week to week. I’m a freelancer so things are very fluid. 

Did you go to college for writing?

Nope, I went to college to study horses (Equine and Human Sport Science). 

What bothers you more: speeling errors; punctuation, errors, or errors for grammar?

Well, my grammar and punctuation are absolutely awful… so probably the latter as it’s easier for me to spot therefore more likely to bug me. 

What is the best writing advice that anyone has given you?

Every word counts. I spent a year studying poetry with some pretty amazing teachers, and they taught me just how much every word counts. So I suppose the advice is to keep that in mind, weigh each word, does it do everything it needs to? Does it add to the sentence? Does it work with the rhythm and flow? 

What advice would you give to another writer?

Take the time to really find your voice and look outside of your own little niche. I learnt a great deal from poetry, I also learnt a lot from reading outside of my genre. Learn from every possible source, songs, movies, ballet, tv shows, everywhere that there’s a potential for a story, learn from it. Use it to help you discover and hone your own voice. 

What are your favourite writing sites or blogs that you turn to for help, tips or encouragement?

I tend to read blogs that’re focused on publishing rather than the art/craft of writing. I really enjoy Mollie and Jessica‘s blogs for a great pick me up though. 

Besides writing, what else do you enjoy doing? What are your hobbies?

I listen to music, dance around my flat, wander around the city, read many books, binge-watch tv shows, watch movies, eat out, drink in bars and enjoy conversations with complete strangers. I enjoy travelling but I’m not rich enough to have that as a hobby 😉

What’s the best book you’ve read this year?

It’s not one book but, The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. I’m not normally a YA reader but dear gods those books are amazing! They’re works of art on all levels, the lyrical musical nature of the prose, the gorgeous character development, the world, the plot. So much beautiful artistry. 

What’s the best movie you’ve seen this year?

Kingsman. It was a bloody wonderful film! It was fun and engaging and I really enjoyed it. 

What is your favourite book or series of all time?

I already mentioned The Raven Cycle so I’ll say The Night Circus. For similar reasons, the artistry! I could slip between the words and revel in the gorgeous mastery that hides there. 

Who is your favourite author?

Now that’s just cruel and unusual. I read so many books, for so many different reasons, I refuse to pick a favourite. Can’t make me. 

What are your plans for the rest of the year in terms of your writing?

Relaxation. I’m pushed myself too hard and am on the edge of burning out, so I’m having a couple of weeks of relaxation. I’ll do a bit of editing, probably some more on Witch Infernal. No pressure. 

Where else can we find you online?

I’m on Twitter. 

I should tag more people in here but I’m completely hopeless at following blogs, I live on Twitter. So if you want to do this, please feel free and tag me in so I can read!

The questions:

When did you first start writing? Was being a writer something you always aspired to?
What genre do you write?
Can you tell us a little about your current work in progress? When did you start working on this project?
What was your first piece that you can remember writing? What was it about?
What’s the best part about writing?
What’s the worst part about writing?
What’s the name of your favourite character and why?
How much time a day/week do you get to write? When is the best time for you to write (morning or night)?
Did you go to college for writing?
What bothers you more: speeling errors; punctuation, errors, or errors for grammar?
What is the best writing advice that anyone has given you?
What advice would you give to another writer?
What are your favourite writing sites or blogs that you turn to for help, tips or encouragement?
Besides writing, what else do you enjoy doing? What are your hobbies?
What’s the best book you’ve read this year?
What’s the best movie you’ve seen this year?
What is your favourite book or series of all time?
Who is your favourite author?
What are your plans for the rest of the year in terms of your writing?
Where else can we find you online?

5 thoughts on “Tag You’re It: Writing Questions.

  1. YAY! I’m so happy you did this 😀 Just so you know, I fully support your decision to write sexy men and I am ALWAYS more than happy to help you do research or lend my professional opinion when you find pictures ;p

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

