Fiction and Writing

2016 Goals

year-1004613_1280

 

2016 is just around the corner, which means it’s time for me to write down my writing and publishing goals for the year.

This year I’d wanted to publish three books in a series under another name, and start a new series. I’d hoped to see some real progress on the writing and publishing front. Well I did, just not in the way that I pictured. I did not write those three books for that series, I actually decided to cancel that series. What I did do was start a brand new pen-name, write over 60 serial episodes, and make four-figures a month. I also wrote five books this year on top of those episodes, so while it didn’t go as I’d planned, it worked out pretty well.

This year ended up being devoted to researching, learning, and figuring out exactly what I was going to do writing-wise. That’s been fantastic. I’ve read over 100 books, I’ve learnt a tremendous amount, and I feel like I’m ready to tackle 2016 and do wonderful things.

What are my 2016 plans and goals?

First and most obvious is to get my Infernal Hunt series up and running. I want the first three books published and doing things by the beginning of June at the latest. I want them proving themselves and making me feel good by my birthday (July 31st). I have the covers, I have my marketing plan, I have rough-drafts of the blurbs, and I almost have all three first drafts.

Next, I want to write a minimum of six full novels. I have the outlines written for the next two Infernal Hunt series. I’d originally planned on taking a break after finishing up Witch Infernal and making a start on my Powdered Ink series, but I’m quite excited about diving into the writing of book four (Infernal Alliances).

I want to make reasonable money from my books. I don’t expect to make millions, but enough to show me that I’m on the right track is a definite goal. Realistically I want to return to making four figures a month, I have confidence in this series. I can do this.

I’ve come a long way since I started this writing and publishing thing. It hasn’t been an easy road, but I’ve learnt so much, I know that I can do this. Now, I just need luck on my side.

 

What are your 2016 plans?

 

 

2 thoughts on “2016 Goals

Leave a Reply

