Fiction and Writing

A Year Of Books And Reading.

I did a lot of reading last year, and I planning on doing even more this year. I want to share some books I read with you, and some books that I’m really looking forward to this year. As writers, we tend to be book lovers. If you’re like me, you love settling down to read, losing yourself in a new world, and exploring new ideas. I want to celebrate that love, to share it.

I’m an urban fantasy and paranormal/supernatural thriller author, so they’re my primary genres as a reader too. They’re what I love, what I return to when I want to slip between the pages of something new. So if you have no interest in those genres I’m afraid this might be a bit of a boring list for you.

This is far from a complete list of what I read last year, but these are the books that stuck in my mind.

Dragon Born by Ella Summers – this was a new series to me. I stumbled across it on Amazon and I loved it. It’s light, fun, action-packed, and wonderful. I feel like I learnt a lot from these books for my own series and can’t wait to read the next books.

The series is split into two intertwining series, they follow a pair of twins. Alexandria, and Serafina.

Serafina.

Alexandria.

This is a series that I’ve mentioned a few times, the Hellequin series. It’s a denser read and a very different tone to the series above, but I really enjoyed it.

Hellequin.

The Iron Druid Chronicles. This is one of those that brings together so much that I love. I am a practising pagan, so seeing this take on the varying gods was wonderful. The characters themselves are a lot of fun.

Iron Druid

I read so many more but I don’t want to bore you and leave you with a heap of links! I’m happy to share and recommend if you’re looking for recommendations though, I love talking about good books.

Now onto what I’m looking forward to reading this year!

A very nice person on Twitter gave me a fabulous list to explore.

I’m most excited about Owl’s Adventures. It sounds right up my street, with a fun, kick-ass female protagonist, she’s a thief, there’s supernatural wonderfulness. Perfect! This sounds a lot like what I want Powdered Ink to be.

Owl’s Adventures.

Deadly Curiosities is along similar lines, with fabulous supernatural artifacts, kick-ass protagonists, and danger.

Deadly Curiosities. 

Cold Burn Of Magic sounds like another really good, fun, urban fantasy. It has all the classic elements there.

Cold Burn Of Magic. 

The veil between two worlds is a classic and one I use myself in my writing. This feels like an interesting take on that, I’m curious about where the author takes it. (Writing summaries about books I haven’t read is hard!).

The Veil.

The Elemental Assassin series has been recommended to me by quite a few different people, so I’m going to give it a shot. It’s another one with the classic ideas in there, sexy pair, assassin, kick-ass female protagonist, magic. Good stuff!

Spider’s Bite. 

Finally I’m going to step out of my comfort zone a bit and try Nilini Singh. I’ve heard so many amazing things about her books, but they are quite romance orientated from what I’ve read. I thoroughly enjoyed The Raven Cycle despite it being YA, so I’m pretty hopeful for Singh’s books.

Angel’s Blood.

Slave To Sensation.

 

I do have quite a few more books that I’m looking forward to trying out but you only have so much time! If you’re looking for recommendations then I’m always happy to share. Tell me about the books you’re looking forward to reading this year!

 

Leave a Reply

