Fiction and Writing

Liebster Award

Liebster

 

Jasmine Carlisle was kind enough to tag me into the Liebster award! I met Jasmine through Mollie and am honoured to have been nominated. So what is the Liebster award?

The Liebster award is an award for new bloggers (those with fewer than 3,000 followers) to help us find new followers and friends in the blogging world. The rules are:

1. Thank the blogger that nominated you
2. Answer the 11 questions that the blogger gave you
3. Nominate 5-11 bloggers that you think deserve the Liebster Award
4. Let the bloggers know about their nomination
5. Give them 11 questions they should answer

So thank you Jasmine! I’m really glad to have met you and look forward to more interesting conversations on writing and books.

Now onto the questions:

  • What is your favorite word?

Miscreant or petrichor. They both sound wonderful, they roll off the tongue.

  • What point of view do you write in?

Usually first person, that’s how it naturally comes to me. I suspect it’s my fascination with psychology that brings it about, being able to write the inner workings of someone’s mind. I’ve written some snippets and bits in third person though.

  • Approximately, how many books do you own?

I own perhaps 30 physical books at this point, but only 6 of them are here with me. Ebooks on the other hand, maybe 200? I read a lot.

  • What made you start a blog?

I enjoy blogging, I like having my little corner of the internet staked out where I can do what I please.

  • Do you have any kind of fandoms (books, TV-shows, movies,etc.)?

Not really, I love The Raven Cycle and Supernatural, but I don’t go quite far enough in my love to really call myself part of the fandom. I guess I’m just not that personality type.

  • When did you actually start referring to yourself as a writer?

A few years ago when I knew I was going to stick with it. I dabbled in writing uncertain if it’s something I’d be able to sustain, when I knew that it was important to me and as natural as breathing, I started calling myself a writer.

  • How long have you been writing?

I’ve been dabbling, by that I mean writing little snippets, images, and funny random stories for 15 years. I’ve been writing properly, as in books, with more thought and intent, for 8 years.

  • Are you a planner or a pantser?

As you can tell from my posts on outlining I’m a planner. I used to pants but then I started this whole writing career thing super-cereal (long story) and that led to planning. I can’t pants a big 10 books series and expect it to turn out as I want.

  • What’s a book that you would recommend to anyone and everyone?

Hmm either The Night Circus because oh my god it’s so damn gorgeous and such a beautiful work of art! Or 2k to 10k by Rachel Arron because it really highlights the importance of passion. There’s been a lot of focus put onto ‘butt in chair and write’ where writers block doesn’t exist, inspiration is for amateurs, and this is a craft dammit. It’s a hard job and you have to show up and power through. That book reminds us that if we wanted to power through something we hated, we’d rock up to a boring office job and earn a nice steady wage, with benefits. Instead we chose to focus on our art, something we love, and that’s really important.

  • What’s the title of the first writing project you wrote or attempted?

I have no idea what stupid name I gave it lol. The first proper book that I wrote, the one that converted me to a proper writer, was Tiaden Dawn.

  • Do you listen to music while you read/write?

Absolutely yes. Finding the right music really helps my process, if I’m struggling with something finicky like politics then I might use a natural noise like waves. Generally speaking thought I have music on. I devote far too much time to finding the right music, if it isn’t right then the words aren’t going to happen. If it is right, it’s beautiful and wonderful.

 

Now to tag people in and give you wonderful folk your questions to answer!

As I’ve said before I’m a bit hopeless about this following people’s blogs thing, I’m trying, honest I am! So if you’re reading this and you haven’t been tagged please do take part and let me know so I can read.

Jessica of Little Siberia

Faith Rivens

Jewel (although I suspect she was tagged elsewhere).

Jen from Combustible Reviews

Liz Meldon

Blaise Haddow

 

The Questions:

  1. What’s a trope or archetype you want to see more of?
  2. Who’s your favourite character to write/read?
  3. Which book would you say sums you up?
  4. Show us the book cover you deem most beautiful in all the lands.
  5. If you could meet and chat with just one author (dead or alive) who would you choose & why?
  6. Fonts are super important, which font do you write in?
  7. Which genre are we least likely to find you reading?
  8. What’s your reading/writing beverage of choice?
  9. If you could save one character, from one book, who would you choose?
  10. Which villain did you secretly root for?
  11. Last but not least, what’s the best type of cake in existence?

Don’t forget to let me know when you join in and reply so I can read your answers! And if I didn’t tag you but you want to play, let me know!

 

8 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. I wish I was more planner orientated. I am in most things, but when it comes to writing, I start out with good intentions and then get impatient.

    I love your choice of questions. They’re really interesting. I’ll have to put some thought into some of them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You rocked these questions! I’m so glad you could do it (and so quickly if I might add) and that we can learn more about you!

    I’m so glad to have met you as well! So many great writers I’ve come to know and I loved having the experience.😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks again for the tag! I can’t wait to get into this one. I appreciate you thinking of me 🙂
    I love your answers and finding out more about you as a writer. The Night Circus is such an aesthetically pleasing book. It’s one of the reasons why I love it. Not only is a beautiful plot, but the book itself lends to the story, welcoming me into a new world!
    Also, I love the word miscreant 🙂
    Thanks for sharing a bit about yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

