Thoughts & Passions

Getting To Know You

I’ve had quite a few comments where people have been happy to know a bit more about me as a person, which is weirdly scary for me given I’m an extrovert. I’m a weird extrovert ok πŸ˜›

It’s Sunday, the day of rest and relaxation, so I thought I’d take a little time to tell you about well, me.

WhoAm I

I am Holly Evans, an English expat living in Prague with my wonderful Southern gentleman husband. I always had a thing for Southern gentlemen so having caught one for myself, I’m very happy.

When I’m not writing urban fantasy I’m a freelance developmental editor (I look at the big picture, pacing, character development, the big bits). I’m also an avid reader, I consume about three books a week, sometimes more depending on workload and stress levels. When I’m not lost in a book, be it mine or someone else’s, I enjoy dabbling with photography. I’m not that good, but I enjoy it nonetheless. It gets me out into the city and gives me an opportunity to share the beauty with you guys.

In England I was a dog trainer and riding instructor, it was really hard selling my horses and saying goodbye to my students.

This is where I run out of stuff to say lol.

I’m not entirely sure what it is you guys would like to know, as Al found out I love tea, coffee, and biscuits. I also love variety so I try to keep a minimum of 6 different coffees in at all times – each roasted in shops within walking distance from here and ground when I buy them. Why yes, I am a bit spoilt in that regard πŸ˜› I have a particular love for Hondoran and Guatamalan coffee. I adore tea too, I discovered blooming teas in the local tea shop, they’re fascinating to watch and taste wonderful too! My go to tea is Pai Mu Tan (a white tea), but I tend to keep a puer eh and lapsang souchong on hand, and I make husband sweet tea from rize in the summer.

My plan, once this whole full-time author thing kicks in properly, is to travel the world. I want to start with the French riviera, then over to Spain and Portugal, spend some time in Italy, and so on and so forth. I’d like to keep my roots here in Prague because its the first place that ever really felt like home, but I want to travel, to see and experience.

I’m passionate about psychology, I did consider becoming a shrink but I think the attitude needs to change with regards to how shrinks view their patients and the world around them. This passion for psychology is likely a lot of why I write in first person, I like getting in my character’s heads and really showing them for who and what they are.

I’m completely out of the loop on tv and music, not having a tv will do that to you πŸ˜› I’ve watched a few episodes of Arrow and think I could get into that, I loved Lost Girl until it just went stupid and insanely self-indulgent. When it comes to the Avengers I’m an Iron Man girl, assuming Loki doesn’t count of course πŸ˜‰ I’m also an ENTJ, and a slytherin. Oh and if you’re into Divergent then I came out as Dauntless. In summary I’m ambitious, driven, fiercely loyal, incredibly stubborn, determined, and will do anything in my power to help those I care about. πŸ™‚

On a scarily open note, I do suffer from depression (I was back to suicidal last spring), I was in a sexually abusive relationship for a year 10 years ago, and I have body dysmorphic disorder and a related eating disorder. This last one means I am a size 2 (American) and yet all I see when I look in the mirror is fat. No I do not want sympathy, nor do I engage in any conversations regarding the objectification of women, fat-shaming, ideal beauty standards, etc etc.

On a happier note, I enjoy scotch and absinthe. My favourite scotch being the Edradour special edition, although I keep the 10 year in – fantastic stuff. I have a big soft spot for the Macallan 12 year, and adore Yoichi and the Nikka super whisky. I love La Clandestine and prefer the blue absinthes, although I quite enjoy St. Antoine and Mansinthe is very good stuff.

I work hard and I play hard, although I quite often forget the play bit and keep talking work while out at bars and things! I’m a workaholic and it’s really hard for me to switch off, but I do absolutely adore dancing and try to do that as much as possible. Dancing makes me happy and I hope one day to learn ballet, salsa and the tango. I’ve done some salsa but I’ve not had a partner to learn with. 😦

Now tell me all about yourselves!Β 

10 thoughts on “Getting To Know You

  1. Great post! Thanks for sharing with us. Some of the things I knew and some were new (how’d you like that word play?) I admire your candor on topics which are extremely personal and often hard to discuss. I wish I could be more like that πŸ™‚ I’m so lucky to have met you on Twitter and don’t know what I’d do without my fellow redhead! xoxox

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Some of the stuff I admitted to are very hard, but, I felt like they needed to be said. I don’t avoid certain topics to be contrary or cold, I just don’t deal with them. So I figured this is my safe space and it’s good to show that I’m a real person, despite the bouncy self I am in public, I have my cracks too. πŸ™‚

      I’d be lost without you too, I’m so glad I met you, you’re a core part of this being my year. xoxox

      Liked by 1 person

  2. La Clandestine and The Macallan? Nice. Confession: I am co-owner of the first and have worked in international sales on the second. There are some great cocktails combining absinthe and Scotch although Macallan might be a bit too dominant for that.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I understand that. However top bartenders around the world (but especially in the US, UK, Australia) love using absinthe in cocktails. They also do some good cocktails with absinthe at Hemingway in Prague (as I’m sure you know).

        I do admit that I probably wouldn’t use Macallan 25 year old in a cocktail!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Having had absinthe at Hemmingways I don’t think I’d trust them to make an absinthe cocktail, to be entirely honest. Last time I was there they had no clue how to louche. The head barman at Bukowskis knows what he’s doing though πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for sharing your story here! Your courage is inspirational. It is amazing that you accept who you are and aren’t ashamed to tell people. You are a beautiful person and I wish you all the best in your life. Keep believing in who you are and never give up! May the paths forward lead you to your dreams πŸ™‚ Shine bright!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

