Fiction and Writing

Monday Coffee Break 2

Mon Coffee Break

 

Last week I started this feature, the Monday coffee break, where I give you a summary of things, then I post a question for you.

In summary, I’ve named my tattoo magician series! Born Of Ink follows Dacian, who usually goes by Dan. I’m going to see how far I get without an outline, because I need to destress and relax. I’ve also officially announced that I hope to be a full-time author this time next year! You can find my plan to do this here.

I haven’t started actually writing Branded In Ink book one of this tattoo magician series yet for two reasons – I haven’t quite figured out the opening scenes yet, so I’m still writing snippets. (You can read some of those here). Reason number two is that I’ve been having a bit of pain in my wrists so I’m limiting my typing for a couple of days to rest them so it doesn’t become anything more severe. I type for a living, I’m an editor and writer, I dread to think how many thousands of words I write every day. I am very careful to do full stretches (neck, shoulders, back, arms and wrists) every 90 minutes but it’s still a lot of strain on the body. Don’t forget to stretch guys and rests your wrists/arms/hands if they start to hurt, you don’t want it to become something serious.

I think that about covers it, I haven’t discovered any new coffees or things. It’s been a very writing focused week really, with that focus being heavily on Born Of Ink. I’m terrified about this going full-time as an author thing, but I feel like I did the right thing announcing it and showing you guys my plan. I will continue to share my progress with you, my plans, what worked, what didn’t, in the hopes that it’ll help you. So you can expect some more posts on writing craft, editing, and marketing. I don’t have any books out under this name, but I was paying my bills for some 5 months under a pseudonym (the change in Amazon killed it) and I have had books in the top 12,000 on Amazon. I’m not a bestseller but I’ve been around the block and can share what I’ve learnt with you guys. 🙂

Oh and in case you missed it, I shared the books I’ve read this month that I recommend fellow readers of urban fantasy have a look at. You can find those here. 

Now to the latter half of this feature!

Question

Last week I asked if you have a work in progress you’re not quite ready to write yet. This week I want to know, Which books are you really excited to read this year? 

I have to admit that I don’t tend to pay much attention to big releases and the buzz that builds around them, but!

 There are a few for me, there’s The Raven King that I’m both really excited about because I love that series. If I were to ever become a proper fan, it would be of that series. At the same time I’m dreading reading it because it’s the last in the series, it’ll be over.

I’m also really excited about And I Darken by Keirsten White. I don’t usually read historical, but this sounds far too good to ignore. A female Vlad the impaler, with historical accuracy, intrigue, twisting plot, and huge conflict? I have to give it a shot!

I need to get my hands on Truth Witch too, it has been released but I need to read more of my TBR pile before I can justify buying it. I’m not really a YA reader but it sounds intriguing and we shouldn’t constrain ourselves to boxes thus limiting our enjoyment of things 😛

How about you? Tell me all!

 

11 thoughts on “Monday Coffee Break 2

  1. Born Of Ink is a great name! Best of luck with your full-time writer plans, I hope it works out! Hopefully one day I’ll join you ^^
    I’ve got so many books I want to read this year!! Next I’ll probably read More of Me, A darker Shade of Magic or Six of Crows 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your novel names. They sound great!

    I don’t tend to keep up with new releases. I try, but it seems as if I have to hunt for them. You’d think it’d be easy to discover them!

    Some I’m interested in are 13 minutes by Sarah Pinborough, The last immortal by Alex Marlowe, On the edge of gone by Corinne Duyvis, Snakewood by Adrian Selby and The May Queen murders by Sarah Jude.

    And I really, really want to All the birds in the sky by Charlie Jane Anders. It came out a few days ago, but I’ve been unable to get my hands on it. D:<

    There are a few more, but I'm too lazy to find my notebook with the list!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the names you chose for your books! They’re easy to remember but not so common that you’ll run into someone with the same title.

    I’m waiting for both of those books too! Both of the covers are so pretty and I love both of the authors.
    I’m so excited for The Crown by Kiera Cass to come out. It’s the last book in the series and I’m really sad it has to end, but I can’t wait to read it.
    Also, the last book in the Rebel Belle series by Rachel Hawkins titled Lady Renegades comes out and I’m waiting on that as well.
    On the 24th, I’m going to a book signing with Rachel Hawkins and V.E. Schwab and the tour is for the release of A Gathering of Shadows so I’m excited for that one too.

    As you can see, I really like new releases and you better believe all of those books are already preordered. 😛

    Thank you for sharing your updates with us and I love your questions! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I follow V.E. Schwab on Twitter, she seems like an awesome author who’d hold a really fun signing! ADSOM is high on my TBR list, so many people have said how amazing it is.

      I’m not familiar with the others but I’ll have to go and have a look, I’m always happy to add to my tbr list!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve never read ADSOM (I found out about the book signing through Rachel Hawkins) but It’s also on my TBR and now it just needs to be ordered (I don’t really leave my house so all books come from online :P)

    Pretty much all of the books that I’m waiting for are the last in a series but I would recommend the whole series of any of those books, if that makes sense. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. As always, I wish you the best of luck with pursuing your dreams! Your sage words of advice are well taken. Sometimes we become so absorbed in our words that we forget to take the time we need to properly care for ourselves. But it’s essential.
    With your strength and perseverance, anything is in your power to accomplish. You will be a full-time author and it will be awesome! 🙂
    With regards to books, I have too many on my TBR at the moment. I have to admit that And I Darken sounds like something I would be eager to ‘sink my teeth in’. 😉 I never limit myself because of a book’s age group. I started reading a book series called the Roman Mysteries when I was younger but the series only finished recently and even though it’s in the 9-12 section, I really enjoyed them all 🙂
    If I REALLY have to choose a book I’m excited for, I’ll have to go with: Tigana by Guy Gavriel Kay and The Thorn Birds by Colleen McCullough. Oh! And Saint Odd by Dean Koontz (the last in the Odd Thomas series…I’m anticipating a bittersweet moment).
    Love these postings! Stay well and keep your head up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

