Fiction and Writing

Work In Progress Wednesday – Characters.

WIP Weds

 

I did this post last week, where I shared some information about my current works in progress, and then tagged in some awesome people to answer the questions. This isn’t likely to become a regular feature because coming up with all those questions is hard! I would however like to know about peoples’ characters, and it’s not nice to demand answers without offering a few yourself 😛

You can find last week’s post with general information about Infernal Hunt and other bits here.

 

 

Give us the rundown of some of your main characters

Evelyn (Evie) Hawk is the protagonist and narrator of the Infernal Hunt series. She’s in her mid-twenties, stubborn, loyal, aggressive, overly protective, and a bit closed-minded.

Dacian is the protagonist and narrator of Born Of Ink. He’s calm, collected, thinks before he leaps, watches everything, intelligent, aloof, and a little prone to being stuck in his ways.

Tabitha (name open to change) is the protagonist of Powdered Ink, she’s a strong-willed, independent, confident alchemist. I describe her as an alchemist Lara Croft, she can look after herself, loves a good adventure and doesn’t take any nonsense. 

Lysander is a hellhound in the Infernal Hunt series. He’s incredibly protective, aggressive, loyal, a little hot-headed but also gentle, caring, and hard on himself. 

 

Who’s your favourite and why? 

I hate playing favourites, I suck at choosing a favourite. I’m picking Kadrix though because he makes me giggle and he’s being featured in the questions coming in a minute. He has an interesting view on the world, where he’s an elf it’s a step outside of the other views represented. He doesn’t mean to be, but he’s so incredibly inappropriate at times and it provides some great levity. 

Who’s the most difficult to write and why?

Right now Tabitha. I’ve been trying to get her voice right for a year now and still haven’t quite grasped it. Elle, from the unnamed intense wip is also very difficult because of the sheer intensity of it all. She feels so deeply, there’s just so much going on there.

If you could choose one to spend the day with in real life, who would you choose and why?

I’ve gone and given myself some hard questions here! I think Quin would be a lot of fun. He’s Evie’s twin and her opposite in a lot of ways. He’s usually smiling, very intelligent, and knows how to have fun. He can brighten any room and has a lot of insight and knowledge to offer. I feel as though a day with him would be filled with fantastic conversation and laughter. 

 

Pick one and answer the following:

What’s their basic description? Physical appearance, job, etc.

Kadrix. Elf. 6’2, slender, long almost white-blond hair, bright green eyes, fine bone-structure. Kadrix is an alchemist. He comes from a good bloodline and has the magical skills and arrogance that goes with that. As an elf he’s very long-lived but still only just coming into his prime. He looks to be in his mid-twenties.

What are their views on love?

Elves are pansexual and don’t do traditional relationships. Monogamy is completely alien to them, so the concept of traditional love, being utterly in love with and devoted to one person is very bizarre to them. Their world and culture is based on sacrifice, to give your heart to one person, is a huge sacrifice and something that hadn’t really occurred to Kadrix. On a logical, academic level he understands what love is. He acknowledges that it exists but he’s not entirely convinced that it’s something he personally is capable of. It terrifies him. 

What are their religious views?

Does it count as religion if the gods really do exist and can be spoken to and dealt with? Kadrix is aware of the varying gods, he doesn’t tend to deal with them but he acknowledges them. He isn’t always respectful of them, it’s more of a cautious understanding and a wary watching them to see if they’re going to try and screw him. 

How do they feel about death?

Death is an inevitable part of the cycle of life. He acknowledges it, accepts that it will happen, but not until he’s good and ready. His life will end on his terms, and that’s that. 

What’s their approach to food and cooking?

He loves to cook, food fascinates him. It links into alchemy, you take a collection of raw elements and alter them to make something completely new and wonderful. He enjoys experimenting and making new dishes. It’s one of the few ways that he relaxes. 

What’s their place in the world?

Elves aren’t normally alchemists, it’s deemed to be below them because of their natural magical skills. That being said he comes from a good bloodline and he’s made sure that he’s respected as a businessman and fighter. He has a good position in the city with plenty of strong connections. 

What’s their big dream?

To explore all the planes in existence. There’s so much to learn out there, so much to see. He doesn’t want to be limited to the Earth plane, he wants to explore and learn. Just think of all the new elements he could find, the new things he could create, the advancements he could make!

How did they come about?

Evie needed an alchemist in Infernal Ties and so he popped up. He very quickly bloomed into this big character that demanded more space on the page and in the plot.

If you were to ship them with another character, yours or someone else’s, who and why?

I’d ship him with Tybalt from the October Dayes series. That relationship would be amazing to witness. Kadrix is a strong personality, snarky, independent, and a fighter. Tybalt is similar, they’d clash on epic proportions, everything would be fire, passion, and aggression. 

Finally, if you can, share some lines or a snippet focused on this character!

Kadrix’s introduction:

Bottles, vials, and other containers filled every space on the shelves covering the walls. The tables were equally as covered in varying bowls, bottles, and glassware. There were more colours than I thought were possible to conceive of. I knew that Quin would be grinning if he saw that place, I couldn’t help but feel a thrill of excitement on his behalf. I wanted to run my hands over the leather-bound books that were piled high under one of the tables.
A collection of pale pink and orange orbs floated into the room ahead of an elf. I kicked myself for forgetting that the damn alchemist was an elf, they were notoriously difficult to deal with. His long pale blond hair was tied back, he was absorbed in a notebook that he held in one hand while gesturing to himself with the other. His cupid bow mouth was smiling to himself, I couldn’t help but notice his blue-green eyes. I had no doubt that many women before me had fallen into them.

It’s really hard to find non-spoilery lines from Kadrix but this one is very him.

We were halfway across the living room when Kadrix said, “Will I need normal earplugs or magically enhanced earplugs?”

And this:

“This is Soren, he’s here to resolve the lycan cub’s virginity issue.” Kadrix said.

He’s so incredibly blunt and a such a little sod (to use the gentler phrase). 

 

I want to hear from everyone, I love hearing about people’s writing and works in progress. If you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged! Feel free to use my graphic at the top too, it’s all above board 🙂

To make it a little more official, here are some links to people I follow and would love to see this from:

Mollie

Jessica

Jewel

Al

Faith

Jasmine

I’m sorry if I’ve forgotten you please tag me in on Twitter if you do participate:

UpdatedTwitterCrop

I can’t wait to hear all about your characters!

HollySig

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Work In Progress Wednesday – Characters.

  1. Thank you for tagging me once again! I loved your questions on the last one and I love the questions on this one!

    All of your characters sound so great (or maybe it’s the way you described them?) and I’m so excited to read some books with those characters in it!

    I’ll have this one up really soon (but because of what happened last time, you shouldn’t take my word for it. :P)

    Great answers! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really am loving these tag posts 🙂 Thanks for tagging me again! I am honoured that you want to find out more about my story! I know that I love finding out more about your characters!
    Kadrix is quite an intriguing character. He’s definitely unique. It was great to hear about his beliefs, and the excerpts were brilliant as well! You describe all your characters so well. I cannot wait to get my hand on their stories 🙂
    Thanks again for sharing and creating such insightful posts. They’re a joy to read!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love how strong all of your characters appear to be. Definitely noticing a pattern 😉 Kadrix sounds like one of those characters I’d get really attached to and always eagerly anticipate their next appearance. Cool name too! I’m really excited to actually read all these books of yours! 😀

    Thanks for tagging me! I’m going to get started on the questions now!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

