Fiction and Writing

Monday Coffee Break 5

Mon Coffee Break

 

It’s Monday again! I’ve been a little quiet this week, I decided to take a few days off from my blog. I’ve been fighting with my writing for a little while, it’s been driving me insane. Fortunately I managed to get some writing done! It finally started to fall into place. The problem was fear, to be completely honest. There’s so much pressure on these books, I’m putting a lot of effort in to try and make sure they’re the very best they can be, and they can launch me to full-time author status.

I drank a reasonable amount of wine Friday night and it was exactly what I needed to let loose and dive in. Admittedly I ended up writing a random short story that was inspired by something Mollie said. It doesn’t matter, I’m really proud of that story. I threw it up without even going back and checking for typos. Super proud.

On my proper writing, I got a few chapters down on Branded In Ink you can read the opening chapter here. I also returned to Infernal Alliances and got a few chapters down on that one too. I was struggling with them for different reasons. There are a lot of feels in IA which are a bit close to home, to be honest. Branded In Ink is just so different to what I’ve been writing for the last year or so that I’ve been worried about getting the voice right. I feel like I’m making good progress on both though.

Away from writing I stocked up on tea and coffee on Friday, the owner of that shop loves when I come in. I got ten different coffees, each from a different country – we love variety here in Evans Towers. I also picked up some Golden Nepal tea that I haven’t had in months, if you enjoy light, slightly sweet and floral black teas, I highly recommend it. Freelance work has been going well. Oh and I wrote a post about writing when you’re happy and healthy. Personally, I do not write every day and I do not believe in forcing myself to write. It’s not good for me.

Now to the question!

 

Question

 

 

Tell me about a book or series that really surprised you, whether good or bad!
For me, it was Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle. I’ll admit I’m not really a YA reader, I tried quite a few books and couldn’t get into them (outside of Harry Potter). I lost myself with TRC almost immediately though. I’ve recommended it to all and sundry, the writing is gorgeous, deep, lyrical, stunningly beautiful. The characters are alive. I’m really envious as a writer, I’m not ashamed to admit that. I would love to have the impact on my readers, to bring my stories and characters alive as well as Maggie does. 

 

HollySiggy

4 thoughts on “Monday Coffee Break 5

  1. We need a break every now and then to realign ourselves. It’s amazing how much pressure we put ourselves through, striving to be the best we can be. We sometimes lose the passion when we become too intent on reaching goals and forget about the story we’re telling!
    Your honesty and insight when it comes to writing are just inspiring 🙂 I’m glad to hear that your writing is going well. You have a beautiful way with words. Just keep believing in them!
    I haven’t read the Raven Cycle yet, but I mean to. I definitely will now!
    A series that took me by surprise recently was The Clifton Chronicles. A period drama that tells a sprawling epic of a family in 1900s England, I wasn’t expecting it to enjoy it as much as I did. I’ve always been a great lover of fantasy stories and never much for straight dramas, but Jeffrey Archer has a way of weaving page-turners of a story. I have become wholly devoted to the family and each tragedy and victory they face feel like my own 🙂
    Hope you have a great week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 I’ve heard a lot of people love Archer’s books, I believe some of them have been converted for tv in England (I may be wrong on that). Thanks for sharing and stopping by 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

