Fiction and Writing

Urban Fantasy Recommendations Feb 2016

Urban Fantasy Book Recommendations

 

I debated whether to do this post for Feb (I know it’s a few days late 😦 ) because I didn’t do a huge amount of reading. There was real life stress and I’ve hit a reading slump. I’m here though because I have some new Urban Fantasy addicts to fuel! 😀

Through February I only really read books from two series. One I knew and loved, another was new to me. We’ll start with the familiar one:

FinalFormula

I picked up book one in this series when it was free and I fell in love. I’ve recommended this series to so many people, I read this book in one sitting. It grabbed me and wouldn’t let go! The world is well-established and carefully expanded so that I was fascinated, intrigued, but never overwhelmed and certainly not bored. The characters are amazing, they’re deep, fun, and interesting (I want a James!). I love the way alchemy is used and the roles it plays in this series, it definitely sparked my interest in alchemy and pushed me to trying my own alchemy-based series.

All in all, if you’re looking for a really fun, interesting, urban fantasy series with fantastic characters and alchemy I highly recommend this one.

Now we have the series that’s new to me!

Rosemary

This is another one that sucked me in and wouldn’t let go. The world is broad, intricate, and wonderful! It focuses on fae, but there are so many forms of fae and the world is complex and fantastic. The characters leap off the page and leave me wanting more. The plot’s quick-paced without leaving anything behind, the author really knows how to grab the reader’s attention and keep them hanging on. There’s the emotion, and growth, without losing any of the action or tension. I love this series so much that I got Jen hooked on it too *proud grin*

 

As I didn’t read all that much this month I’ll share what I’m looking forward to reading next. I tend to read two or three books in a series, then wander off for a little bit. A. I love variety. B. I don’t want to risk burning out on a series. C. If I get a bit stuck, I like knowing I have book I can be certain I’ll love to head to.

So! I’m looking forward to reading these next:

ADSOM

I’ve heard nothing but absolutely amazing things about this book and its sequel. The blurb sounds wonderful:

Kell is one of the last Travelers—rare magicians who choose a parallel universe to visit.

Grey London is dirty, boring, lacks magic, ruled by mad King George. Red London is where life and magic are revered, and the Maresh Dynasty presides over a flourishing empire. White London is ruled by whoever has murdered their way to the throne. People fight to control magic, and the magic fights back, draining the city to its very bones. Once there was Black London—but no one speaks of that now.

Officially, Kell is the Red Traveler, personal ambassador and adopted Prince of Red London, carrying the monthly correspondences between royals of each London. Unofficially, Kell smuggles for those willing to pay for even a glimpse of a world they’ll never see. This dangerous hobby sets him up for accidental treason. Fleeing into Grey London, Kell runs afoul of Delilah Bard, a cut-purse with lofty aspirations. She robs him, saves him from a dangerous enemy, then forces him to another world for her ‘proper adventure’.

But perilous magic is afoot, and treachery lurks at every turn. To save all of the worlds, Kell and Lila will first need to stay alive—trickier than they hoped

I’m definitely really excited to dive into this book.

Then I have a new book in a fun series I’ve been reading and recommended to some of you:

(This is book 1).

Ella

This is a lighter series than the ones above it. This is a bit more of a popcorn read, and I love it. It’s a series that I’ve whizzed through and thoroughly enjoyed so far. The characters are fun, they’re your classic strong kick-ass women, and sexy alpha-males that love them. The fantasy creatures are varied and interesting, the magic’s a lot of fun. All in all, this is a quick, fun series to read. I’m looking forward to reading the latest installation. 🙂

Finally! This isn’t a book, but, I’m getting back into watching Supernatural! I watched the pilot when it first aired and loved it. It’s the only tv show I got on DVD, but I stopped watching at the end of season 5. I heard the director changed and I didn’t want to have the show that I loved so much sullied. After seeing so much love for the seasons since then I’ve finally dived back in. It feels good to be back following the Winchester boys 😀

So there we have it, if you’re looking for some good urban fantasy reads, these are my February recommendations. Hopefully next month I’ll have a few more for you!

 

Enjoy 😀

 

HollySiggy

6 thoughts on “Urban Fantasy Recommendations Feb 2016

  1. After hearing so many great things about a Darker Shade of Magic I just bought it last week with the intention of reading it in the very near future. In the meantime, now I have even more books to add to my TBR!
    Thanks for sharing your recommendations. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

