Fiction and Writing

Sunday Sharing!

SundaySharing

 

I finally wrote the end of Infernal Ties!! It’s done, it’s written! It had been stressing me out so much that I feel like a huge physical weight has been lifted. I haven’t tried leaving a project to come back to it later before, I know not to do it again, it drives me mad! So this post will be a bit random 😀

First thing I want to share is the playlist for Infernal Hunt. This is the playlist I tend to play when I’m writing stuff relating to that series.

That list is a bit eclectic but it works beautifully for the series. Another playlist I’ve been using is:

That one’s put together as a more general writing playlist, rather than with a specific series or book in mind.

I am currently having my first day off in months, I work 7 days a week, so this is a bit of a weird sensation. I also have five whole days to write whatever I want! Guilt free! I’m on a break from Branded In Ink and the Infernal Hunt books are with my editor, so I can write whatever I please! This is an amazing feeling, I usually feel so guilty when I even think about writing something that doesn’t fall neatly into my publishing plan.

I’ve been toying with a scene for a couple of days. I can’t give any outside details about it, but, I wanted to try writing it. It’s a bit of a challenge. Anyway, enough rambling!

 

The scene.

I chewed on my bottom lip as we sat on the balcony overlooking the city. I knew it was coming, that moment that had been building for days. Butterflies squirmed in my stomach while my heart fluttered, the seconds ticked by in agonising clarity. It had hit me out of the blue, one moment he was another guy, maybe a mentor, the next I couldn’t get him out of my head. Images of being closer to him kept forming in my mind unbidden, I’d never felt that way about a woman let alone a guy. Sure I’d had plenty of fun with women, but it had never felt like… this. I stole a glance at him, the way the final red light of the sunset pooled on his lips begging me to touch them, just brush my fingers over them. I swallowed hard and looked away, it was madness, and yet there was no escaping it.

My heart skipped a beat or three when his slender fingers ran up over the back of my hand. His warm breath curled around my neck making the hairs stand on end. I froze. “Are you sure you’re ready?” He whispered as his fingers caressed my inner wrist.

I smiled and turned to face him, his lips were already dangerously close to mine. I just had to lean in a little, it seemed like the hardest thing in that moment. His pale green eyes looked into mine, there was nothing but kindness there. None of the mocking at my fear or inexperience that I’d have expected. His lips brushed my jawline, my breath caught in my throat as a shiver ran down my spine. I felt like a little boy again, entirely lost, at his mercy.

A flash of courage came from somewhere, it swelled in my chest and had me digging my fingers into his long silken hair. I barely realised I’d done it before I felt his lips pressed to mine. His fingers stroked down the back of my neck rubbing away any tension as he kissed me with more tenderness than I knew possible. I increased the pressure leaning into him, fear be damned, I wanted more of him. He pulled back with a small smile, his thumb slowly ran along my jawline. “I won’t let you rush this.” He whispered.

I flushed and looked away, I’d been foolish. My heart thundered in my chest. He hooked his finger under my chin and made me look at him once more, “We only get one chance at this, let us savour it.” He said, his breath curled across my lips.

flourish-31609_640

A final random share, this meme thing made me giggle far more than it should have done.

MurderCat

 

I hope you’re all well my darlings! I do miss our chats and discussions, I’m getting much better.

 

HollySiggy

 

6 thoughts on “Sunday Sharing!

  1. First, congrats on finishing Infernal Ties: that’s an amazing accomplishment!
    Second, I love your playlists. They are a really brilliant collection of songs!
    Third, I love this short! What a beautifully written, truly inspired piece of art. It flows so well, so smooth. Just fantastic!
    Also, I completely understand the guilt of writing things that aren’t your WIP. I’m nearly done this edit & I’m excited to move on to something new. While I love this one, there are so many fresh ideas waiting their turn 🙂
    Thanks for sharing this great excerpt 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

