Fiction and Writing

I’m A Storyteller Not A Writer.

Maggie Stiefvater is one of the authors that I have a great deal of respect for and a while ago she posted this:

I’m a storyteller, not a writer. 

I used to think I was the latter, and then I thought I was the former because all of the former were the latter by default. Now that I’ve met bunches of both, I know they aren’t the same thing. I’ve met people who really and truly are purely writers. They write for themselves. They construct elaborate journals only for their own eyes. They would continue writing even if they never got a word published.

I am not that person. I write for an audience. For the reaction. To change people’s moods and hearts. And if I couldn’t write words, I’d tell stories in another way. I’d compose music or paint images or get into stand-up comedy to continue telling stories. For me, the equation isn’t complete until I’ve solved for audience. 

Quoted directly from her Tumblr.

 

That’s me. I’m a storyteller, I write for the reaction, to have an impact on my audience, to know that I changed their world, if only for a moment. I’m exactly the same as her, if I couldn’t do this through the written word I’d find another way, dance, music, something.

I think that’s a lot of why I have so much trouble with this idea of writing something purely for me, something that will never see the light of day, where’s the fun in that? Don’t get me wrong, I adore the written word, I’ve given serious consideration to studying linguistics with a focus on semantics. Language is something I’m very passionate about.

You’ll likely see quite a few random scenes and snippets on here over the coming months, little stories that I hope touch you in some way. That’s how I relax and destress, and I hope, I’ll brighten some people’s days with them. My goal here it so help people, to make the world a little brighter, to inspire and aid people in their journey.

Are you a writer or a story teller? 

 

HollySiggy

14 thoughts on “I’m A Storyteller Not A Writer.

  1. Oooh this is an interesting post! I’m definitely a storyteller. One of my beta’s has said that to me before and it’s true. I write for others and myself. Because for me it’s a very therapeutic thing to do, but I also want to give people something and see their reaction to it. I want to know what people feel when reading my stories. And hopefully send a message out there to the world. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, this has given me a lot to think about! I’m a storyteller, but I don’t know that this means that I’m not a writer. I don’t think being a writer means that you only write for yourself, it means that you write – whether that’s just for you or for an audience doesn’t matter to me. You’re a writer if you write! I do agree that you don’t have to publish your writing to be a writer, though. It’s the act of it that makes you one, not the audience.

    I feel like I’m starting to ramble, so – Great post!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I get what you mean! It was hard to title this, because it would have read more like “I’m a storyteller, not a writer, because while I am a writer, I write for an audience, not purely for the love of writing.” which is a bit long lol

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I knew what this post was going to be just by the title, haha. I think I’m a bit of both. I write because I like to write and I’d keep doing it if no one ever read my work but I write it to be published. I still don’t really know but for now, I’m just going with a simple answer- I write.

    Thank you for the post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, my April is going to be far busier than I initially expected, I have 3 books to edit and prepare for release, on top of usual work so I’ve decided to pull out.

      Like

  4. This is a really thought-provoking post. You always introduce these ideas that make me think and consider how I write in a different light. I think that I see myself as a storyteller. My end goal is to reach people with my stories, not just write for myself. I am also a writer on some level, but I definitely lean more towards the storyteller end of the spectrum.
    This also reminds me that I really must get to Maggie’s books! She seems like an amazing person 🙂
    Thanks for sharing your insight. It’s always inspiring ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

