Thoughts & Passions

Writing For The Fun Of It.

 

For the past few days I’ve been writing purely for the fun of it, and it’s done me the world of good. It’s so easy to get wrapped up in the business side of this experience, I do plan on making this my full-time job. There’s a lot of pressure to pay my bills with my fiction. Yet, I’ve said so many times, I do not understand the people who force themselves to write because it’s such a difficult path. There’s a very slim chance of making good money at it, and even then, it can be taken out from under you in the blink of an eye. If you’re going to push yourself too hard and be miserable, then I highly recommend getting a good day-job, enjoy the security that comes with that better income.

The pressure to earn the money, to get everything perfect, as been weighing on me like a physical weight. I’ve finally managed to shrug it off and it’s incredible. I’ve been writing random things that will likely never be edited, sure I could be using that time to write Branded In Ink or getting Powdered Ink started, but I’m not, and that’s a fantastic decision.

Artists are nothing without our passion. That passion fuels the inspiration, it drives us on and enables us to create the works of art that we love so dearly. If we’re fool enough to get wrapped up in more earthly pursuits then our art will fail, and what are we then?

And so I sit here, with a glass of wine next to me and a grin on my face reminding you to write purely for the fun of it sometimes. Shrug off that publishing schedule, shut down your inner editor, and dance a wild and passionate dance with your muse. It doesn’t matter if it’s full of cliches and too awful to ever see the light of day. Write purely for yourself. Write to enjoy the sensation of pure, unadulterated bliss. You owe it to yourself, and your readers.

 

On a final note:

Thank you, from the bottom of my heart to everyone who’s helped me reach this point. Thank you, you mean the world to me and I’m eternally grateful to everything you’ve done.

 

 

HollySiggy

3 thoughts on “Writing For The Fun Of It.

  1. You are a true storyteller! Your enthusiasm and love of writing is such a wonder! I am so happy for you, that you know what your passion is & that you have the courage to pursue it. You are a constant inspiration — sorry if I say that too much, but it’s the truth ❤
    I love every opportunity to read your writing & I honestly can't wait to read your novels!
    Enjoy the time that you write for yourself. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

