Fiction and Writing

The Readers Confession Tag.

I spotted this over on Jen’s blog, and promptly ran away with the questions 😀

Have you ever damaged a book?

I accidentally tore a page once. Only a little tear on a corner, I can’t even remember how, but I remember being horrified.

Have you ever damaged a borrowed book?

Nope, definitely not. I was furious when a friend returned some books I’d leant her with broken spines and dog-eared pages though.

How long does it take you to read a book?

It depends on the book, how much time I have to read, and whether it’s fiction or non-fiction. If it’s a fiction book I love, a day or two.

Books that you haven’t finished?

There are so many! I read maybe one in four books that I start. I get between a page and a couple of chapters in before I have to walk away. I’m so fussy! (Kindle Unlimited and the look inside feature are godsends!)

The Elemental Assassin books, whatever book one is. That’s a series that a lot of people recommend for urban fantasy readers, so I had a look. It was awesome, right up until she started having graphic sexual fantasies in the middle of an action scene! It completely destroyed the flow. Ugh.

The Iron Druid Chronicles book three. I really enjoyed the series up until then. It meandered, and got side-tracked, and I had to put it down.

Deadly Curiosities looked like a fun urban fantasy. It was more like a quaint little cosy mystery than an urban fantasy. Maybe people who likes cosies will enjoy it more.

There are hundreds, they’re just the ones that popped into my head.

Hyped/Popular books that you don’t like?

The Grisha books. I couldn’t get into the writing style, at all. I tried three times and couldn’t connect with it.

I couldn’t get into the Mercy Thompson books either.

Or The Mortal Instruments books.

Twilight, The Hunger Games, 50 Shades, and Divergent I think are all a given – you guys know me well enough to know they’re not my thing 😛

I wasn’t a fan of The Game Of Thrones either.

I don’t tend to pay much attention to the popular and hyped books because I am so fussy and likely won’t enjoy them as much as the hype states I should.

Is there a book you wouldn’t tell anyone you were reading?

I wouldn’t tell them about the non-fiction, but that’s more because they’d probably find it boring. I don’t think you guys care about equine nutrition, or the latest dog training methods!

How many books do you own?

Hundreds. I own perhaps 30 physical books, and hundreds of ebooks. I devour them!

Are you a fast reader or a slow reader?

Definitely a fast reader. Like I said, I devour books.

Do you like to buddy read?

I’ve never tried! I’ve worried that I’ll be too eager to read it quickly and then I’ll  be bouncing around waiting until I can read the next bit. I like being able to just sit down and read.

Do you read better in your head or out loud?

In my head. I hate reading out loud, I get really anxious. I’ve read out loud to my husband when he’s been ill, but that’s it.

If you were only allowed to own one book, what would it be and why?

The Night Circus, because it’s such a glorious gorgeous book! There’s so much to enjoy and learn there.

 

This is a fun tag and I want to know more about you guys! If you want to join in please do run away with the questions and let me know so I can read your answers!

 

HollySiggy

15 thoughts on “The Readers Confession Tag.

  1. Oooh, you should definitely buddy read with me. I zoom through them even faster when I’m buddy reading. I get waaaay too excited!

    Someone who feels the same about over hyped books as me!! \o/ I’m very interested in dog books. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We’ll have to find a book to read together then! 😀 Have you read Dogs by Lorna & Ray Coppinger? It’s a little technical but it goes into the full evolution of dogs, such a good book!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m sure we’ll figure out something, there are so many awesome books out there! Have you read the Dresden Files? They’re supposed to be THE urban fantasy series and they’ve been sitting on tbr list for months… we could try book 1 of those at some point?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. We can do a casual buddy read.We can do it through twitter. I’ll get the book and we can do it whenever you’re ready. Time frame…ahhh, I’m terrible at them. We’d say one chapter a week and I’ll finish the book in a day. :’D We could set a date and then tweet each, (pm?), to see where the other is and discuss at exciting bits. We’ll work it out! \o/

        Feel free to ask others to join if they’re interested. 🙂

        Like

      3. Ok sounds awesome 😀 I’m in the middle of a book at the moment, and I’m reading slowly due to OMG the preorders are love! lol. Sssoooo I can start Saturday probably 😀 I’ll throw something on Twitter and we can pull something together on there 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this post and love your answers! I know I’ve said it before but The Night Circus is such a beautiful novel! It was so unique and just completely stole my heart.
    I get the whole hype thing too. It’s better to just follow your own interests and not worry about what everyone is obsessing over. A lot of the time, the build-up leads to high expectations that the book can’t actually meet!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

