Fiction and Writing

WWW Wednesday 22nd June 2016

WWW Wed

 

This is my first WWW Wednesday! Thanks to Faith for bringing this to my attention. 😁 Thanks to  Sam at Taking on a World of Words for hosting this meme.

 

If you’re new to this like me, then you answer these three questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Without further ado!

CurrentlyReading

 

I’m stressed so I’m hopping around quite a bit with reads. I’m halfway through book 2 in the Mercy Thompson series.

Mercy2

 

This is a nice easy read, much like book one. It’s shallow, quick-paced, and generally… easy. It’s pulling me along nicely enough but I’m not convinced that I’m in the mood for it right now.

Blurb:

Mechanic Mercy Thompson has friends in low places-and in dark ones. And now she owes one of them a favor. Since she can shapeshift at will, she agrees to act as some extra muscle when her vampire friend Stefan goes to deliver a message to another of his kind.

But this new vampire is hardly ordinary-and neither is the demon inside of him.

 

Nice Dragons finish last

I also started Rachel Arron’s Nice Dragon’s Finish Last. I loved her plotting book and I have to say I’m a bit disappointed by this so far. I’m struggling to care about what’s going on. There’s action, and world-building, and stakes, but I’m not invested. I just don’t care. I’ll probably put it aside and try again later.

Blurb:

As the smallest dragon in the Heartstriker clan, Julius survives by a simple code: keep quiet, don’t cause trouble, and stay out of the way of bigger dragons. But this meek behavior doesn’t fly in a family of ambitious magical predators, and his mother, Bethesda the Heartstriker, has finally reached the end of her patience.

Now, sealed in human form and banished to the DFZ–a vertical metropolis built on the ruins of Old Detroit–Julius has one month to prove that he can be a ruthless dragon or kiss his true shape goodbye forever. But in a city of modern mages and vengeful spirits where dragons are considered monsters to be exterminated, he’s going to need some serious help to survive this test.

He only hopes humans are more trustworthy than dragons…

RecentlyRead

I recently finished book 1 in the Mercy Thompson series. I put my thoughts about that here. 

urban fantasy series recommendations Mercy thompson

In summary, the Mercy Thompson series is one of the big Urban Fantasy series, and I felt it was about time that I read it. I was expecting a lot more from this book. The style is easy to read but the plot was flimsy and unsatisfying. It’s definitely a popcorn read, something I’ll come back to when I don’t want to think too much.

Blurb:

Mercedes “Mercy” Thompson is a talented Volkswagen mechanic living in the Tri-Cities area of Washington. She also happens to be a walker, a magical being with the power to shift into a coyote at will. Mercy’s next-door neighbor is a werewolf. Her former boss is a gremlin. And she’s fixing a bus for a vampire. This is the world of Mercy Thompson, one that looks a lot like ours but is populated by those things that go bump in the night. And Mercy’s connection to those things is about to get her into some serious hot water…

 

ReadNext

I’ve been feeling the pull back to the Final Formula series, so I might well read book 3 in that. I adore that series, I took a break because I’m not ready for it to end! But it’s ok, there are more books yet. I’m tempted by book 4 in the Incryptid series too, I loved the first three, and I’m really excited about book five as it returns to the same protagonist that I fell in love with in the first two books.

(No blurbs because ya know, spoilers).

Alchemist

Incryptid

 

Come and tell me, what are you reading? What are you looking forward to reading? 😁

 

HollySiggy

13 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 22nd June 2016

  1. I’m reading Walter Moers’ THE CITY OF DREAMING BOOKS. It’s great. There’s a good bit of digression but it moves fast and I love the protagonist: Optimus Yarnspinner, who inherits from his beloved godfather a mysterious and particularly superb manuscript. He is also assigned a single mission: to find its author, who has disappeared into Bookholm–the so-called City of Dreaming Books.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the shout out Holly! And glad to see what you’re reading! Mercy Thompson is back on my TBR! Even though I have lots and lots of books already there, it’s good to be able to sneak in quick reads in-between all my bigger ones (which most of my TBR seems to be made of) ;P
    Happy Reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It took me 3 tries to get into Mercy but I’m glad I did. Ella Summers’ Dragon Born series is another great popcorn read. They’re quick, light, and fun, which is exactly what you need sometimes!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

