Fiction and Writing

Pokemon Go Book Tag!

pokemon-go-book-tag

 

I spotted this over on Bee’s blog Quite The Novel Idea. and concluded that it looked like great fun! I must admit that I don’t play Pokemon Go because well, I don’t have a phone. If I did have a phone I’d love to give it a go though!

Thanks to Aentee for creating the tag and the wonderful graphics that go with it!

This is a very laid back tag. Answer the questions, and then if you want to tag people in to join in, fantastic! If you’d rather just let people do it as they please, also fabulous! Without further ado, the questions, and my answers.

 

pokemon-tag-01starters

Oh gods I don’t remember! My ABC book maybe? Or possibly the hungry caterpillar? I remember loving both of those books as a toddler. I don’t remember not being a bookworm. The trip to the library on Saturdays was always my favourite day, even when I teeny and still learning how to read.

 

pokemon-tag02pikachu

Well, if we’re going true classic as in studied in schools and all, then it has to be Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. I studied it in high school and absolutely adored it. It had quite an influence on me, and some of my favourite personal projects are clearly of a similar vein. That being said, Call Of The Wild, and White Fang, will always be important to me. My husband said they’re the books, particularly Call Of The Wild, that sum me up. I gave him my copy of them on our first date, they came with us here to Prague.

 

pokemon-tag-03-zubat

 

Probably Truth Witch. For a good while it was everywhere I looked! There were hashtags about clans, and quizzes, images, all of this hype absolutely everywhere. I liked the concept, I thought that was really cool, but I was sick of seeing it everywhere.

 

pokemon-tag-04-ditto

 

Hmm maybe The Magpie Lord series. The writing is gorgeous and addictive, the characters and overall plot are familiar. It’s the first m/m paranormal romance I read and I fell madly in love with it. I’ll definitely be re-reading it. The problem with being a writer and developmental editor is I pull apart all books, so I see the tropes and structures everywhere! I’m adding in Ella Summers’ Dragon Born Alexandria too. I know it said one book but sshh. That’s one of my favourite popcorn reads. It’s full of tropes, the kick-ass snarky heroine, the sexy misunderstood tortured assassin love interest. But I love it! It’s fun, and frivolous, and wonderful escapism.

 

pokemon-tag-05-snorlax

 

I read on my kindle so I don’t really notice how long individual books are. I don’t think I really have one for this. I don’t tend to pay attention to the length of the series following book one, if a book catches my attention then I dive in and go from there.

 

pokemon-tag06-gengar

 

Hmm I think I’m going to have to say The Final Formula by Becca Andre. That really pulled me back into urban fantasy and dragged me out of a dark pit. It hooked me from the opening page and just wouldn’t let me go. It ignited a passion in me that I feared I’d lost, such a good book.

 

pokemon-tag07-nidokingqueen

 

This has to be Pynch from The Raven Cycle doesn’t it? Such an amazing pairing! I adore Addan? Rowie? the main pair in The Final Formula. Oh, oh, and Tobalt? Tyby? from the October Daye series is fantastic and wonderful, I hope that happens (I’m only on book 3 don’t tell me!). And, and, Vernic? from the Incryptid series is also so fantastically fun and adorable!!

pokemon-tag08-rapidash

 

The first one that popped into my head for this was Kristi Charish’s Owl And The Japanese Circus. That’s another fantastic book that I recommend to all and sundry! Everything is absolutely on point. It’s fast-paced, action-packed, the romance arc is just glorious (and in the background). The protagonist is this Lara Croft-esque treasure hunter. Ah it’s so good!!

 

pokemon-tag09-eevee

 

I have to be honest, I haven’t really read any series spinoffs. I don’t tend to read the inbetween novellas either. I’m drawing a complete blank here.

 

pokemon-tag14-magikarp

 

Probably The Magpie Lord series that I mentioned above. I’m not a romance reader, I tend to avoid paranormal romance, but someone recommended it to me so I figured I’d broaden my horizons. The magpie thing helped hook my interest, I adore corvids and magpies will always make me take a closer look. I was expecting something that was a bit of idle fun, but it was so, so, good! I want more, three books wasn’t enough! (I have to mention Mollie’s Nerves here, not because it was a surprise, but because it’s the other romance that I can’t get enough of!)

 

pokemon-tag12-legendary

 

 

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff. People are acting as though this book is the best thing since kindles, but I don’t care, that cover is absolutely stunning! The blurb sounds incredible, and I cannot wait to get my hands on it.

 

pokemon-tag15mew-mewtwo

I’d love to own a collectors edition of either Call Of The Wild or one of the red-paged Nevernight. Have you seen the glorious beauty of those things!?

 

pokemon-tag10-egg

 

I’m completely hopeless at keeping up with the big names, and the traditional publishing news. Caraval sounds really interesting and I quite liked the opening chapter when that was announced somewhere. To be honest the two I’m really excited about, when they come out, are Mollie’s Nerves and Miriam’s Star And Stone.

I’ve had the great pleasure of seeing snippets (and chapters in the case of Nerves!) from both of these and squee! The writing is glorious, I’m so excited to see the completed versions. I keep hoping I can convince them to send me an early copy, but no luck so far lol.

 

pokemon-tag11-lure-module

Seanan McGuire. Hands down. No questions asked. Maggie Stiefvater, I’m very curious about her next project. Becca Andre – I’d love to see how she handled a new project outside of The Final Formula.

 

pokemon-tag13-server-down

 

Nevernight! I can’t remember when I first saw that stunning cover, last autumn maybe? It’s been such a long time, but it’s finally just around the corner! I’m super curious about Maggie Stiefvater’s next project too. She’s refusing to release any details (which I completely understand), but my curiosity is killing me!

 

Tagging:

Mollie! 

Jen!

Miriam!

Faith!

Sarina!

 

 

HollySiggy

 

5 thoughts on “Pokemon Go Book Tag!

  1. Now this is a cute tag!! And so perfect for a veteran trainer like me 😛 I don’t know if I can fit it in, but I’ll certainly try ^^ It might take me a while, though.

    Great answers, I’ll be checking out some of those! I think I’ve heard of The Magpie Lord before but I haven’t read it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

