Fiction and Writing

Rapid Fire Book Tag

Rapid Fire Book Tag

 

This Tag was Created By Kate at Girl Reading . I was tagged by the wonderful Jen at Combustible Reviews. 

Tag Questions:

– E-Book or Physical Book?

Ebook. I’m rather small, with small hands, so physical books become really uncomfortable to hold for any length of time.

– Paperback or Hardback?

Paperback. I find hardbacks unwieldy and uncomfortable.

– Online or In-Store Book Shopping?

Hhmmm I love finding less well known books and authors online, but there’s something so therapeutic about being in a physical bookshop.

Trilogies or Series?

Series. When I fall into a world with characters I love, I want more. I never want to let go (I’m awful for refusing the read the last book so I don’t have to let go!).

– Heroes or Villains?

I really like villains. A well-done villain can make a book for me. But! It’s the hero that you spend the time with, so… I guess I have to say hero. Although I do love a good anti-hero.

– A book you want everyone to read?

The Night Circus – you knew that was coming didn’t you? lol

Recommend an underrated book?

The Final Formula by Becca Andre. I adore that book. It’s fantastically written and it really sparked a lot of my drive into making something from my own Urban Fantasy.

– The last book you finished?

Panacea by F. Paul Wilson.

– The Last Book You Bought?

Does Kindle Unlimited count as buying…? If so then Demon Rogue by D.N. Erikson.

If not Panacea by F. Paul Wilson

Weirdest Thing You’ve Used as a Bookmark?

A beer mat I think, or maybe the little paper wrapper from a teabag.

– Used Books: Yes or No?

Yes, definitely! As long as it’s in good condition I love a good bargain!

– Top Three Favourite Genres?

Urban fantasy, supernatural suspense, theological thrillers.

Borrow or Buy?

It depends on how we’re defining borrowing… if Kindle Unlimited is borrowing, then that. If borrowing is strictly physical books, then I prefer buying. I like having the book there to pick up when I want, no pressure to return it.

– Characters or Plot?

That’s so hard! I mean, I’m all about well-developed, fascinating, awesome characters. But! There needs to be a good plot to pull everything along. Take V.E. Schwab. Her characters in This Savage Song are outstanding, but the plot was threadbare so I put it down. Can I have both? Pretty please?

– Long or Short Books?

Medium…? I like books that are long enough to be really satisfying but I get impatient with long books. I guess if I have to pick I go short.

Long or Short Chapters?

Short. I like the sensation of forwards motion, of things keep moving and progressing.

Name The First Three Books You Think Of…

Rosemary and Rue, And I Darken, Nevernight.

– Books That Make You Laugh or Cry?

The Scriptlings by Sorin Sucui made me laugh. It’s a fantastically written humorous urban fantasy where the magic system is based around computer code. I highly recommend it.

It’s really hard to make me cry. The last thing that came close was this short story:

Parthenon: In Between by L.M. Murphy.

– Our World or Fictional Worlds?

Both…? I’m an Urban Fantasy junky, so I love our world with a supernatural spin on it.

Audiobooks: Yes or No?

Nope. Absolutely definitely not. I cannot stand being read to. I refused bed-time stories as a kid. I’ve tried audio books and I despise them. I just really hate being read to.

Do You Ever Judge a Book by its Cover?

Absolutely! I had no clue what Nevernight was about when I saw the cover reveal but I knew I needed to have it. The same with This Savage Song. Oh and Splintered by A.G. Howard.

There have been other books that could have been fantastic but I overlooked because the cover just didn’t call to me.

Book to Movie or Book to TV Adaptations?

I like them. It’s interesting to see them in that different format.

A Movie or TV-Show You Preferred to its Book?

Stardust. It’s one of my absolute favourite movies of all times, but I was very meh about the book.

Series or Standalone’s?

Series. I love being sucked into a world and watching the characters grow and develop.

 

Thanks to Jen for tagging me, this was a lot of fun!

 

I know lots of people are really swamped at the moment so I’m encouraging people to tag themselves!

 

 

HollySiggy

19 thoughts on “Rapid Fire Book Tag

      1. The fifth wave film was so disappointing. They changed bits that made the book special and turned it into a generic dystopian/apocalyptic film. :/

        Stardust is a gorgeous film though. You know, Coraline by Neil Gaiman is a film too?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s the other way around – I saw Coraline when it first came out in cinemas, but I haven’t read the book! 🙂
        I agree, it ruined it for me. Did the film seem rushed to you? I felt like they were trying to get to certain parts and skipped the rest. The book had such a beautiful, poetic touch and none of it translated in the movie version.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I haven’t read them yet. I only finished The 5th Wave a few months ago, and was in no rush to read the sequels. My tbr pile is already quite big, and I didn’t feel like I needed them *now*. They are on my tbr list, though, so it’s just a matter of time 🙂 Did the style change in a bad way?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. It depends on who you’re asking. Personally? I didn’t like it. If you do like the second, you’ll like the third. And the ending of the last book is really good.

        It became really poetic-y is the best way I can describe it.

        The TBR pain… ;-;

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Not that I’m complaining – there’s no such thing as too many books! :’D
        The first book was already poetic, though. It did feel a little out of place, given the setting, but I did enjoy it so maybe more of that won’t be too annoying?

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read And I Darken yet but I’ve recommended it to husband, it seems very his thing – lots of history and politics.

      I don’t think I have, lots of people have recommended it. I need to rectify this.

      Like

  1. Great answers!
    The Night Circus is a book I always highly recommend. I know it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but for me it is a beautiful and magical read that I am inspired by.
    I love Stardust. It’s not my favourite Neil Gaiman novel, but the movie was brilliant 🙂
    I think I might have to do try this tag one day soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

