Fiction and Writing

Update: August 29th.

Update Good Day urban fantasy indie author

 

I’m a bit hopeless about these updates. Still here we are!

As I’m sure anyone who follows me on Twitter will know, I’ve been reasonably focused on my fun project Saoirse And Connor as of late. It’s an urban fantasy that I’m writing purely for myself, and I have to say, it’s doing my mental health the world of good! I have passed the 40k mark and it’s looking like it’ll be the longest book I’ve written in a couple of years. I’ll likely just leave it to sit on my harddrive once it’s done, and I’m completely fine with that.

For those who’re curious you can find some snippets from it that I posted on Twitter by searching #SaoirseAndConnor

On the Infernal Hunt front – the final book the series, Infernal Alliances is currently with my editor. He’s doing the first copy edit before he does the developmental edit. This isn’t normal, but my aphasia means that my grammar is bad enough it distracts him. I’m really nervous about this book and this edit. It’s the last book in the series and I’m really excited to dive into Ink Born but I’m also sad to leave Evie and co behind.

Oh, oh, I’m really close to hitting another financial milestone with my Infernal Hunt books!! Thank you guys! Your unwavering support means the world to me.

I haven’t got as much reading done as I’d like, I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump. I started and then put down six or seven books before I returned to a popcorn urban fantasy series I’ve enjoyed in the past. By popcorn I mean light, easy, fun reads. I finished book two last night and I’ve started on book three earlier. I’m reading them really slowly where I’m focused on work and writing, but they’re providing a nice respite.

We had Summer 2.0 for about three days here. It went from the mid 70s and low 80s up to the low 90s out of the blue. It was forecast to last all through this week, but it’s back down to the 70s after a big storm. I have to admit that I’m really not ready for autumn. The shorter days and general lack of light make me quite miserable. I have short periods where the autumnal look and feel is pleasant, but it gets to me. I’m holding hope for more bright sunny days.

I’ve started playing Smite! I’m not a gamer, not at all. I love playing Dragon Age with husband (he fights, I do the conversation bits), but I don’t have the focus or patience for games. I’m enjoying Smite though, I’m still doing the tutorial and training bits because I don’t want to irritate people with how badly I suck lol. Still, it’s a lot of fun!

I hope you guys are all well 🙂

 

HollySiggy

4 thoughts on “Update: August 29th.

  1. Sounds like August has been a most amazing month for you! Here’s hoping the next few are just as productive and that you have all the luck with bringing Infernal Alliances to the world! I personally can’t wait and while I’m sad to think of leaving Evie & everyone behind, I am also highly anticipating Ink Born 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

