Fiction and Writing

Update: September 12th 2016

Update Good Day urban fantasy indie author

 

I’ve spent the last three days hidden away reading books. It’s been absolutely blissful, I read nearly six books, all of them I thoroughly enjoyed. Sometimes even extroverts need peace and quiet and this is one of those times for me. My anxiety has been through the roof for a couple of days, I’m really stressed over Infernal Alliances, the weird weather has buggared up my sleep, so I’ve retreated further and further into myself.

I’m taking steps to try and soothe the anxiety and make my little world a bit brighter again. One of those things is to pull the Saoirse And Connor serial. Only chapter one has been published thus far so no one has gotten too invested in the story or characters. Having a first draft book out there isn’t helping my anxiety. I was so excited to share, I love that story, but I’m so, so, worried about people shredding it. It’s happened to me before, people have gone to quite impressive lengths to pull apart my work despite my making it clear I am not looking for random critiques (I have a very talented professional editor thanks).

My writing has stalled, on both Stolen Ink and Saoirse And Connor, because of my anxiety. There’s a lot of worry going around my head right now. One of those things is it seems my books have hit the dreaded 30 day cliff. That is where sales and reads drop off at the 30 day mark, it’s a common and well-documented occurrence. I know it’s nothing to worry about, I knew it was going to happen, but it’s another little thing to fret over.

The sun is shining, it’s warm and balmy outside, so I might try and take some walks down by the river. Unfortunately, thanks to my twisted knees, I now have a misaligned bone in my left ankle. That has been causing quite a lot of pain, so that’s limited my mobility which pisses me off no end. I’m very active, I walk a few miles a day just doing errands and enjoying the city, being unable to do that makes me downright miserable.

So I’ve been a bit quiet and I don’t know how long I’ll continue to be quiet. For now I’ll leave you with a couple of book recommendations.

I picked up Demon Moon by Brad Magnarella  thanks to my Kindle Unlimited subscription (I have no book budget this month). It was fun. It had some definite similarities to the Dresden Files, but it’s quicker paced and in my opinion, far more engaging. A nice entertaining read.

I finally dug out Written In Red by Anne Bishop. It had been sitting on my TBR mountain for a year or so, and so many people spoke so highly of it. It’s a fantastic book. It had me gripped from beginning to end. I adored the slightly alien feel of everything, the author did a beautiful job of really capturing the otherness. I can’t wait to get the next book.

Then I dove into Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning. This was a series I picked up what feels like forever and a day ago. It’s one of the core Urban Fantasy series that I picked up to really learn my genre and my craft. I devoured the first three books and am eagerly reading book four right now. I don’t remember the last time I sat down and read this many books in one series back to back. I’ll admit that if I met Mac (the protagonist) in person, I’d throttle her. That being said, there’s an amazing charm about the writing, the world’s vivid, I’m most definitely completely hooked.

There we have it. I’m not in my happy place right now, but I have books, so it’s not all bad. I’ll be back to my usual cheeky, bouncy, self 🙂

 

HollySiggy

 

6 thoughts on “Update: September 12th 2016

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your struggle with anxiety, Holly! I hope that you find the time to care of yourself. Do whatever you need to do to find the strength again to keep going. I wish you find your happy place soon!
    In the meantime, enjoy those books! Reading can be such medicine.
    I also need to say that I just finished reading Written in Red a few days ago! It was absolutely brilliant and I cannot wait to read the next one in the series! It might be one of my new favourites! There was so much to love about it! I’m glad that you enjoyed it too!
    Be good to yourself, my dear! Wishing you all the best always ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was so impressed with Written In Red!! I think it’s definitely my favourite read this year, I’ll be adding it to my re-reads list.

      Thanks, hopefully I’ll be back to myself soon 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry to hear about your anxiety lately. It happens to the best of us. At least the reading is helping and I’m sure you’ll get back into the swing of things soon enough. Until then, take your time and relax. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m sorry to hear the anxiety has picked up recently, but it sounds like your break stuffed with good books is helping a lot! (I’ve added Darkfever to my tbr list, thanks for the recommendation ^-^) I hope you feel better soon and you find a way to pull yourself back out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

