NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo Prep: Samhain Pep Talk.

samhain nanowrimo pep talk

 

Tomorrow is November 1st, the day you embark on the glorious adventure that is NaNoWriMo. Today I’ll be celebrating this holiday in my own way. I expect that a lot of you are bouncing around like things possessed desperately watching the clock tick down until NaNoWriMo.

For those of you who’re a little more nervous, that’s ok. It’s normal, and you’re not alone. I’m writing this as something you can refer to at any time of the year. A reminder that you’re not alone, and you can do this.

Who am I to stand (sit?) here with any sort of authority to tell you what you can and can’t achieve?

I’m an indie author of urban fantasy, Seers Stone, my NaNoWriMo novel, will be the fifth book I write this year. Each of them has been over 50,000 words. I’m in the fortunate position where I’m a part-time developmental editor because my books are paying some of my bills. I know that a lot of you out there would love to be where I am now, and I’m here to tell you that you can do it.

There are going to be dark pits of despair. Times where you feel as though you have no right to call yourself a writer, where you have to throw the entire plot out the window, or you can’t face the idea of opening that document.

You know what? That’s normal.

Every single one of us gets overwhelmed sometimes. We all make mistakes. We all need to step away and take a breather every now and again. Don’t feel guilty about that. Learn from your mistakes, and take that time away to refill your creative well and find your passion again.

I promise you that the good times will out-weigh the bad. For every moment you want to scream and curse out whatever possessed you to be a writer, there will be ten more where you practically float from the sheer glee of being a writer. For every negative review, there will be a lightbulb moment and a beautiful compliment that you grin like the Cheshire cat for.

I have considered quitting this writing thing many times. I’ve deleted hundreds of stories, abandoned books, and said, ‘you know what, fuck it. I’m not doing this any more’. Every time it pulled me back, because this is what we are. This is in our life blood. Allow yourself that time of despair and frustration. Take that break. Then when you are ready, and you will be ready, you’ll be burning with passion once more. You’ll have more life experiences to fuel your writing and really make it stand out.

Today, you’re facing an incredible adventure. To some, it may seem like madness, or perhaps even impossible. We know better.

Remember that once, everything seemed impossible. Today may seem like one of those things, but tomorrow is a whole new day.

 

 

If you liked this post check out my completed Urban Fantasy series on Amazon. 

Completed Urban Fantasy series Infernal Hunt

 

 

HollySiggy

8 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Prep: Samhain Pep Talk.

  1. This is my first year participating and I thought I was ready! However, I was going over my “plan” yesterday and now feel nervous to start! It’s great to hear about other people’s journey with NaNo though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

