Fiction and Writing

Beautiful Books 2016 – Introducing My NaNo Novels.

beautiful books nano novel

Today is November 1st, which means the first day of NaNoWriMo! You can find all of my NaNoWriMo Prep posts here.

Unfortunately I’ve been really quite ill for a few months now, and that means I missed my deadline to wrap up Stolen Ink by Samhain. This means I’m being a NaNo rebel overachiever this year – I’m finishing Stolen Ink, writing Seers Stone and writing as much as I can on Familiars.

This is a collection of questions from Cait over at Paperfury that will give you a look at these projects. Feel free to jump in and do these questions too, just don’t forget to take the picture and add your link to the attached post (and check out other people who linked up!)

beautifulbooks

  • What inspired the idea for your novel, and how long have you had the idea?

Stolen Ink came from my love of tattoos. I absolutely adore tattoos I think they’re a gorgeous art form, I have two with plans for four more. So I toyed with the idea of  tattoo magician and Dacian was born from there. I’ve Dacian in my head for a couple of years, but he didn’t get his own novel until about nine months ago.

Seers Stone (previously called Powdered Ink), came from the fact that I adore the movie Stardust and every time I watch it I think to myself ‘I really want to write something fun and adventurous!’. That combined with the fact I wanted to write an alchemist, led to Seers Stone.

Finally! Familiars came from the idea that I really wanted to write about a witch’s familiar. Everyone looks at the witches, but what about the familiars. That came together with my need to write out my sexually abusive past to form the truly dark Familiars.

  • Describe what your novel is about!

Stolen Ink is about the tattoo magician Dacian and how he gets pulled into a plot where he must stop a murderer, a tattoo thief. There’s a lot more to it than that though, it looks at relationships and the different types thereof. There’s Dacian and his best friend Keirn, and the rest of the cast that I can’t say too much about. It’s a lot of finding your place in the world, understanding your relationships, and all that good stuff.

Seers Stone is about Kaitlyn, the treasure-hunting alchemist, travelling the world trying to locate and acquire the alchemical artifact the Seers Stone. It’s about adventure, exploration, testing the limits, and a little bit of good old good vs bad.

Familiars follows poor Lachlan, and unclaimed witch’s familiar. It’s dangerous to be unbonded as a familiar, there are many ruthless weaker witches who buy familiars and use them to increase their own powers. Lachlan is caught and sold to one such witch. This is a story of strength, darkness, abuse, and recovery.

  • What is your book’s aesthetic? Use words or photos or whatever you like!

I have Pinterest boards! But for some reason WordPress refusing to embed them, despite my having embedded Pinterest boards on here before without any problems…

Stolen Ink.

Seers Stone.

  • Introduce us to each of your characters!

Stolen Ink:

Dacian is the narrator and protagonist. He’s a gay tattoo magician with a good heart bless him. He’s the quiet type who listens to people around him and thinks before he acts. He’s certainly not to be messed with though, he regularly spars with the local lycan alpha and stands up for the little guy.

Keirn is Dacian’s best friend, a snow elf who hates the cold, and fellow tattoo magician. Keirn lives to do art, art is his lifeblood. He’s snarky, passionate, stubborn, and a great balance for Dacian.

Seers Stone:

Kaitlyn is the treasure-hunting alchemist. She’s a wild-child, she believes in living life to the fullest and hates boundaries and restrictions. She’s an adrenaline junky who loves pushing the boundaries and really getting out there and exploring.

Familiars:

Lachlan is very closed off, a bit vain (he’s a cat shifter), jumpy, sharp, stubborn, and very attached to the idea of complete freedom. He doesn’t want to bond to his witch, he doesn’t want to be tied down to anyone or anything.

  • How do you prepare to write? (Outline, research, stocking up on chocolate, howling, etc.?)

It changes with each book. I’m pantsing all three of these because I really wanted to pants Stolen Ink as a break from the Infernal Hunt books. Then I ran out of time to outline or do much of anything with Seers Stone thanks to the illness. Familiars is my fun personal project, so that’ll flow as it needs to.

Music is really important to me, so I create playlists for the books and spend a couple of days exploring new music and pinning down the appropriate mood and feel for the writing music for each book.

  • What are you most looking forward to about this novel?

Stolen Ink:

I’m most looking forward to getting it out in the world, to be honest. I love Dacian, I love his story, and the ink world. I’m excited to share him and all that he is with everyone.

Seers Stone:

Embracing the adventure and Kaitlyn’s love of said adventure. That and the snarky fun exchanges I expect to have.

Familiars:

Having written it and the psychological release and progress of having gotten it out of my system.

  • List 3 things about your novel’s setting.

They’re all set in my ink world so:

It’s a fantasy kitchen-sink. There are many, many, forms of magic, magician, and fantasy race of people present. Magic is right there out in the open.

There’s a lot of darkness versus light at play, the wild magic is vivid bright colours, against the often dark and stormy backdrop of the cities.

It’s huge, it’s the entire world, plus some fantasy cities that came over when the veil broke and magic came to the world.

  • What’s your character’s goal and who (or what) stands in the way?

Dacian of Stolen Ink:

His goal is to live a comfortable quiet life. What stands in his way is the fact that he’s not a normal tattoo magician and that means a lot of people, from the council to the ceremonials, would love to get their hands on him if they found out his secret.

Kaitlyn of Seers Stone

Kaitlyn’s goal is to find and retrieve the Seers Stone. What stands in her way are the rival treasure hunters and the ceremonials who’re also after it.

Lachlan of Familiars

Lachlan wants a peaceful life where he’s completely free. What stands in his way is the fact that he’s a familiar and he cannot be happy or complete without his witch.

  • How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel?

Dacian:

Dacian opens up. He starts off quite closed, he’s worried about who he can trust and is ready to flee from the council at a moments notice. At the end he’s starting to open up.

Kaitlyn:

I have no idea right now, to be entirely honest. I really am pantsing it!

Lachlan:

He’ll be stronger, far less self-destructive, and open to help from others.

  • What are your book’s themes? How do you want readers to feel when the story is over?

Stolen Ink

As I mentioned above SI has a lot of relationships in it. It’s about finding your place within the world. The ending is, if I’ve handled it right, emotionally charged. I want people to feel as though they need to throw the book across the room but also hug it tight and dive right back into re-reading it.

Seers Stone

The theme of this really is adventure, exploration, and freedom. I want readers to come out of this book riding a high, I want them to feel that adrenaline rush.

Familiars

The theme here is abuse and recovery. If I let other people read it, then I’d hope they’d feel empowered, enlivened, and strengthened at the end of the book.

So there we have it my wonderful people! A look at the three books I’m tackling for NaNoWriMo! I’ll be doing updates throughout the month.

Please do run away with these questions and the pic and link up your post on the original, I’d love to know more about your NaNo novels!

HollySiggy

6 thoughts on “Beautiful Books 2016 – Introducing My NaNo Novels.

  1. Like NaNo isn’t stressful enough, you had to go and make it harder for yourself 😀 I believe in you, though, I know how hard you work!!

    (In the first paragraph you say that we can find all your NaNo prep posts here – did you mean to link that? It sounded like a link to me but it didn’t do anything, so I’m not sure if you missed it 🙂 )

    I don’t believe I’ve added you on Pinterest! I’ll do that later if I remember after work 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know you wrapped up Stolen Ink, so I’ll wish you the best of luck with Seers Stone and Familiars. I love how unique each of your stories is! They sound amazing. I am definitely looking forward to discovering more about each of them!
    Stay well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

