NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo 2016: Day Two

nanowrimo update urban fantasy

 

As I’m sure you’re all aware, November is for NaNoWriMo, and I’m being an overachieving rebel this year. I’m getting Stolen Ink ready for my editor next week, and writing Seers Stone and Familiars.

I won’t be doing these updates daily, just as and when I remember and feel like it.

Day one wasn’t great. I wrote 3,600 words and after I decided I wanted to push and wrap up Stolen Ink I fell asleep at my keyboard. It seems my Samhain celebrations took more out of me than I realised, but it was a great Samhain!

I did however wrap up the first draft of Stolen Ink today! It came up shorter than expected but I tend to write my first drafts short. I expect to add 10k during developmental edits, that’s just how I work, that’ll put it at the same length as my Infernal Hunt books. My gods it feels so good to have that done! That was weighing on me quite a bit, but it’s ok, I’ll tidy it up and get it to my editor on time!

I haven’t looked at Familiars yet as that’s the fun project. I do however have three chapters down on Seers Stone!

Opening 2 paragraphs for Seers Stone.

I should have listened to my instincts. Something felt off when I added the ground celestial feather to the phoenix ash. I couldn’t quite put my finger on what it was, but there was a distinct sense of wrongness. Fortunately I did listen to my instincts when the mixture began to fizz. I dove under the workbench and was quickly accompanied by Wispy, just in the nick of time too. The mixture exploded with a rather impressive array of colour, and the explosion itself was almost musical in the way it began with a deep thrumming boom and ended in a high-pitched shriek. Unfortunately the mess it made of my lab was equally as impressive, and difficult to clean up. The knocking on the floor from the apartment below wrapped up the entire experience. “Yes Mrs. Frank I know, stop making things explode.” I muttered to myself as I crawled out from my safe space under the desk.

Wispy remained under the desk, watching, waiting. I rolled my eyes at the Wil’O’the Wisp. He could be so melodramatic sometimes, just because I’d blown up the previous lab didn’t mean I was going to do it again. The powder that had coated the work benches and walls began to pop and fizzle. Maybe Wispy had the right idea after all. I didn’t quite make it back under the desk before the entire apartment rattled and shuddered before it heaved a great sigh. Everything went deathly silent for one beautiful moment, before an awful high-pitched wailing began. I covered my ears and cursed out Tien. He must have given me faulty celestial feather, it was my own fault, I should have checked it more closely. I could hear Mrs.Frank banging on the floor below me, even over the wailing. It was one of those days.

 

I hope your NaNo’s going great! I know I was supposed to post this yesterday, but I crashed out again. This illness is back to kicking my ass. 6 more weeks until I get a break!

 

HollySiggy

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2016: Day Two

  1. Okay, I’m already in love with this story 😍
    Sounds like things are going well so far! I’m a little behind my intended word count, but I’ll use the weekend to play catch-up 😉
    Take care of yourself, my dear! I hope you feel better soon ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

