Fiction and Writing

NaNoWriMo Update: Day 18

nanowrimo urban fantasy day 18

 

So… NaNoWriMo… that fantastic challenge that I was so excited about 19 days ago.

I do not discuss politics with anyone but my husband, and that rule is one I will not be budging on. That being said, there will be a mention here.

The election really threw my world out. Seeing my friends scared, more terrified, and in such a bad state is heartbreaking. Seeing the way Trump and Putin are talking, and acting, is also terrifying. Husband and I have been discussing Putin and Russia’s moves for the past year. We haven’t been very happy about them, but they’ve not been horrendously concerning. Trump has changed that. We sat down and had a very blunt talk about Russia and the likely outcome of all of this, and we made our escape plan.

This means there’s a strong change that we’ll be fleeing Prague in February (when the contract on this flat is up), and moving to Ireland. If Russia moves as we expect, it will no longer be safe to stay here in this beloved city.

With all of this in mind, I’ve been unable to even think about writing Familiars – it’s just too dark. I have enough darkness in my head without that.

Seers Stone took quite some time to tease out the plot of. I had what the Seers stone itself did all wrong which was holding up the plot. I have the broad strokes down now though so I can move forward on that when I have my writing mojo back. I’m also working on Ink Born 1.5, a novella told from the point of view of Isa (Isaiah). That’s called Weavers Knot.

I haven’t written more than a scattering of words for about ten days now. I’ve been incredibly stressed and not slept properly in too long. I’m finally coming back to myself and hope to catch up on sleep tonight, but it’s been rough.

I do have deadlines. I do need another book written by Christmas, whether that’s Seers Stone or Weavers Knot is yet to be seen. Tonight I’m watching Stardust before I watch another episode of Yuri On Ice and focusing on writing lighter, happier things.

I hope your NaNoWriMo is going better than mine.

Stay safe friends.

 

P.S. I am not open to discussing politics or our decision to move to Ireland.

 

HollySiggy

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Update: Day 18

  1. I’m so sorry you’re this stressed about it, and feel that you need to flee your beloved city. I understand your fear perfectly, though, and I hope that you and your husband can build a happy life in Ireland. Watching our American friends despair has been disheartening for me, too. All the best to you and your husband, Holly!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry to hear about all the stress you’re going through, Holly! It is terrible seeing what is happening in the US and around the world. As their northern neighbour, I worry too about the way new policies might affect my family. It isn’t an easy time to be alive.
    I hope that you find some inspiration to write and that you and your husband are able to create a future with all the happiness and security you deserve.
    Sending prayers your way ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

