Fiction and Writing

Introducing Dacian Corbeaux

Introducing Dacian Corbeaux

Today I’m going to talk a bit about Dacian Corbeaux, the protagonist in my new Urban Fantasy series Ink Born.

I’m not going to deny that I absolutely adore Dacian. It’d be so easy for me to compare him to Evie (Evelyn Hawke, the protagonist in my Infernal Hunt series). I feel like that would do him a disservice though.

First things first, Dacian’s a gay tattoo magician. He was originally going to be a secondary character in Hidden Alchemy but I fell in love with everything about him, so he’s got his own series! The gay part wasn’t planned. I’d originally thought him to be hetero, but when I re-read the opening chapters I noted the differences in description of the males versus female and realised that he’s gay.

There’s so much more to him than that though. He’s incredibly loyal to his friends, and he isn’t afraid to show that caring and affection. He’s slow to anger but he’s been in more than a few bar-fights and spars regularly with the alpha of the local wolf shifter pack. Away from all of that he’s calm, quiet, and thoughtful. He doesn’t rush into things, he doesn’t take unnecessary risks. He’s an absolute sweetheart.

Of course he isn’t perfect, he has trust issues, and he makes in-ideal decisions at times, but he does his best. He’s also on great terms with his Dad. It’s so common in Urban Fantasy to have the parents be dead or out of the picture, I didn’t want that. Dacian’s Mum is out of the picture, but he keeps in close contact with his Dad.

I could probably ramble about him for hours, I adore him. Here’s what Miriam has to say about him, (she received an advanced copy):

I think he is a very well rounded character. Flawed but not unlikeable. The way he’s written as a character who is gay rather than a gay character is my favourite part. He’s Dacian first and the gay thing is just another facet of his personality instead of the basis of it. And I also love how protective he is, and wish I thought him up because he’d for into my world so well! 

 

I can’t wait to share him with you guys. You can pre-order Stolen Ink on Amazon for just 99c.

Stolen Ink Gay Tattoo magician urban fantasy

I’m Dacian, a tattoo magician, and my life went from my biggest concern being finding a pretty guy to fall into bed with at the end of the week to everything falling apart around me.

There are two problems in my life.

Number one – I’m an ink magician, the thing of myths. A lot of very powerful people would love to get their hands on me, and I have no intention of letting that happen.

Number two – A tattoo thief came to my city, and the magical community has decided that I’m the guy to stop them.

Somehow, I have to catch the thief without letting my secret out of the bag, and that’s even harder than it sounds.

Buy Infernal Ties On Amazon

 

HollySiggy

 

 

8 thoughts on “Introducing Dacian Corbeaux

  1. This sounds amazing! And I am not saying that only because the character has my name haha
    Don’t think I found another book that names any of the characters Dacian.
    I definitely have to check this out!
    Thanks for making my day!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I was looking at French names and I stumbled across it. I’m not entirely sure why it’s a French name given it’s from around Romania (as I’m sure you know), but it fit the character so I ran with it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

