Fiction and Writing

Launching A New Series With No Budget.

I’ll admit that this post goes against my very English nature. I was taught that discussing cold hard numbers and money, particularly in public, is dreadfully uncouth. That being said, I decided that perhaps some of you wonderful people could benefit from those cold hard facts.

Please note that this post is being written in the hopes it will help some people. It is in no way, shape, or form intended as bragging. I simply want to show what I personally have managed to achieve, in the hopes that maybe it’ll give someone a bit of energy or insight to achieve their own goals.

As I’m pretty sure you’re all aware, I’m launching the Ink Born series on February 10th. Book one, Stolen Ink, will be going live then. It has been up for pre-order since mid-December. I put it up for the full 90 day pre-order.

Stolen Ink has a professional cover, which you can see here:

Stolen Ink Gay Tattoo magician urban fantasy

 

It’s currently being professionally edited, and the blurb falls in line with current Urban Fantasy trends.

The blurb:

I’m Dacian, a tattoo magician, and my life went from my biggest concern being finding a pretty guy to fall into bed with at the end of the week to everything falling apart around me.

There are two problems in my life.

Number one – I’m an ink magician, the thing of myths. A lot of very powerful people would love to get their hands on me, and I have no intention of letting that happen.

Number two – A tattoo thief came to my city, and the magical community has decided that I’m the guy to stop them.

Somehow, I have to catch the thief without letting my secret out of the bag, and that’s even harder than it sounds.

In short – I’ve done everything I can to make sure the book is produced to professional standards and it is clearly branded as an Urban Fantasy.

As this isn’t going live until Feb. 10th I’ll do another post in a few weeks to show you how things proceeded from here.

What I’ve done so far to build up this launch.

As I said in the title, I have zero budget for this launch. I’m moving to Ireland in a month, so there’s no spare money.

  • I’ve done a couple of blog posts talking about the series and the protagonist, Dacian.
  • Stolen Ink is only 99c on Amazon and will remain that way for 5 days past the launch.
  • I’ve mentioned Stolen Ink on Twitter a few times.
  • There’s a link in the back of my Infernal Hunt books.
  • I’ve mentioned Stolen Ink to my newsletter subscribers.
  • I’ve been building my newsletter list thanks to Instafreebie and Infernal Ties being permafree.
  • I have a preview of Stolen Ink up on Instafreebie.
  • I’ve arranged a couple of newsletter swaps with people, which will happen in February.

That’s it. No fancy ads. No hassling people. Just a couple of little bits where I can, for free.

How do the figures look so far?

We’re about ten days away from launch. So I’m hoping these aren’t the final figures.

Thus far I have 1100 subscribers on my newsletter list, mostly thanks to Instafreebie.

I have 327 downloads of the Stolen Ink preview on Instafreebie.

I achieved 65 pre-orders before I sent out something to my newsletter list. As far as I’m aware the vast majority of those came from people clicking the link in the back of the Infernal Hunt books.

As of right this second, I have 90 pre-orders.

I’m absolutely over the moon with that. My big hopeful goal was 50 pre-orders. I’m now kinda hoping that I can hit 100, which would be absolutely freaking incredibly amazing! I’m absolutely gobsmacked that I’ve gotten that many pre-orders.

Ahem. As I was saying.

What will I do between here and the launch?

I’ll send out a newsletter on February 10th telling my subscribers Stolen Ink is now live and available in Kindle Unlimited.

I’ll probably mention it on Twitter a couple of times.

That’s about it to be honest. I see absolutely no value in beating people about the head with it. I don’t want people to associate me with that sort of behaviour.

So there we have it! I’ll let you know how the launch actually went once it’s happened. Until then, thanks for your love and support. I hope this post helps and maybe even inspires you.

If you’d like to read a free preview of Stolen Ink you can do so here:

Stolen Ink Preview

If you’d like to grab a copy from Amazon, you can do so here (apparently Amazon inserts a pretty linky thing now?) As this is up for pre-order the preview button won’t work.

 

holly-siggie

 

8 thoughts on “Launching A New Series With No Budget.

  1. Hi Holly, thank you for that post. It is inspiring indeed. I’d never heard of instafreebie, I’ll look into it. I recently released Episode 2 in my UF series and putting Episode 1 up free for 5 days definitely led to the first sales. Aiming to get Episode 3 out by the end of Feb and run another free period on Episode 1 as soon as KU will let me.

    I know you weren’t meaning to boast about your achievements so far, but I think you have every right to!

    Incidentally, I enjoyed Infernal Ties and will review it eventually. Keep writing!

    And good luck with the move to Ireland. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

