Fiction and Writing

Big Update March 2017.

 

Fair warning – this post will contain all the updates, news etc so it’ll probably be a bit rambly.

Also – My apologies to those who’re patiently waiting for bits from me, things are insane here.

Where to start?

Well, I’m in Ireland now! I now live in Co. Kerry, Ireland. We’re still flat hunting (it’s so hard!), and dealing with visa paperwork (I despise visa paperwork), so things are chaotic to say the least. I love what I’ve seen of Ireland so far. It’s absolutely beautiful and my gods the people are so friendly! It’s a huge change from Prague and one I’m happy to make.

We haven’t done much exploring as we’re trying to keep up to date with our editing work, my publishing schedule, and do the flat hunting and visa paperwork. What I have seen has been very pretty and wonderful though!

I’m slowly getting back to my old self. I hadn’t realised just how much the Czech people were weighing on me. And it was the people, the city itself is gorgeous and wonderful, but trying to do any form of business there is a nightmare. The landlord made the hand-over as unpleasant as humanly possible. They resorted to an hour of personal attacks as they held a vendetta against me – I dared make them do their bloody jobs, heaven forbid! That resulted in us losing the entire deposit, which was over $1,000 as it was two months rent. To say I’m pissed off is an understatement. Of course we were planning using that money to put a deposit down on an Irish flat, so if you’re looking for a developmental editor, let me know! I’ll squeeze you in right away. (Details at the bottom of the post).

On the writing front!

My dear editor is currently editing Blood & Ink (Ink Born 2) and that’s going wonderfully. I have 10 days or so before I get the developmental edits back on that. I must admit I don’t know what I’m writing next. My publisher brain tells me that Ink Bound (Ink Born 3) is the logical bet. Having three Ink Born books out would be great. I’m a bit concerned about burning out and considering writing Seers Stone (Hidden Alchemy 1) instead. Decisions decisions! They’re both set in the Ink world so I have to plot them both out (a couple of characters appear in both series) before I can write either.

On the publishing front!

If you follow me on Twitter you probably saw that I got the shiny cover for Blood & Ink last night!! I’m ecstatic with how it came out. It’s gorgeous, I love it. 😍😍😍😍

Many thanks to Lou Harper who has done all of my covers!

For those of you who followed along with the Stolen Ink launch aka the book launch with zero budget, I have a quick update.

Just a reminder, I’m sharing these figures to try and give my fellow indies some insight, inspiration, and hope. They are in absolutely no way intended as bragging.

 

That is the total earnt throughout March. I was absolutely blown away by the response to Stolen Ink. It achieved far more than the Infernal Hunt books ever did.

The rank stabilised at around about 10k overall on the Amazon store, which I’m really pleased with. It’s stiff competition and I still can’t afford to be running AMS (Amazon ads) and Facebook ads like a lot of the authors in the higher ranks are.

The reviews look pretty good to – Again I’m absolutely over the moon with this and have cried tears of joy. I’m so happy with the response to this book.

 

Stolen Ink has achieved far more reviews than my Infernal Hunt books and that’s due to having sold far more copies.

I’m going to take a moment here and get on my little soapbox to remind people that Stolen Ink was sitting in the top 3k and earning good money before the reviews came in. There’s some thinking that goes around that reviews are somehow magical and if you get enough the books will begin making the big bucks. That then leads to indies guilt-tripping their readers into reviewing their books. Please don’t do that. That very act has made it incredibly difficult to get reviews. I’ve spoken to a good number of readers who say they no longer review on Amazon at all due to that behaviour from indies. Reviews come from sales. They are not magic. They will not get you into the Amazon newsletters – I’ve had 3 books in those newsletters all with fewer than 5 reviews.

Please do not hassle or guilt-trip readers into reviewing your books. A little note at the end of the book explaining that reviews help other readers decide if they wish to buy a book is enough. Do not tell them that reviews help you as an author. Don’t do it. Readers have stated that does put them off as they feel like the author’s breathing down their neck.

*Steps down off soapbox*

Now that I have the cover for Blood & Ink I’ll be putting up the pre-order as soon as possible. I’m hoping to get it up this evening with the hopes it’ll go live tomorrow. It’ll be a 99c pre-order because that’s just how I do pre-orders.

In Summary:

  • Ireland is amazing.
  • Life is completely insanely hectic.
  • Squee new cover!
  • The love and support for Stolen Ink has blown me away.
  • Blood & Ink will go up for pre-order soon.
  • I don’t know what’s happening with this blog because OMG there’s just so much going on!

 

Thanks for your ongoing love and support. It means the world to me.

**Details on my developmental editing.

As I’m sure you can figure, my specialty is Urban Fantasy. My rate is 2c/word. I’m quite happy to look at other speculative fiction genres, but I won’t touch anything with rape in it.

I can offer a 2 week turnaround on anything up to 80k. You’ll receive comments as you go, chapter write-ups and a complete book write-up.

I have references that I can supply in private if you’d like. I also do a 2k word free edit so you can get a feel for how I work and see if we’re a good fit.

Thanks for getting this far. I hate to advertise like this, but losing that deposit was a huge deal. Moving country is very expensive without that sort of thing making it worse.

You can reach me via the contact form. If I don’t reply within 24 hours it means gmail hid your email, so @ me on Twitter at @KhaosFoxe. 🙂

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Big Update March 2017.

  1. County Kerry is beautiful, indeed! The results from your book sales are fabulous! You are working both hard and smart and deserve your success. It can only grow from here on.

    By the way, when did anyone ever get a rental deposit back?!? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, I want to be you when I grow up. ❤ You're such an inspiration! From a writer and reviewer and just a person in general perspective. I wish you luck with your future endeavours and can't wait to see more from you.

    Fingers crossed you find the perfect flat to call home!

    That cover is gorgeous. It's so sparkly and ties in well with your other books. You could tell from that it's a book by you. I really love the colour choice for the title. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my goodness, Holly! So many exciting things have happened! I couldn’t be happier for you ❤
    I hope the chaos of the move silences soon.
    I haven't gotten to Stolen Ink yet but it's on my TBR for next month and the cover for the sequel looks spectacular!
    Best of luck to you with everything, my dear! You are always such an inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

