Fiction and Writing

Earning Over $1k A Month: The Data.

I’m ill so this will be to the point.

As with previous posts around this topic – I am sharing this in the hopes that it helps some fellow indies.

This month I earnt over $1,000 from my Urban Fantasy books. Below is the data showing how that breaks down over pages read and sales, and between the two series. I’ve just thrown the screenshots from my Book Report here, nothing’s hidden.

The books:

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Length: 50k ish except for Infernal Ties which is 30k ish.

Publication date: 

Infernal Ties – July 1st 2016

Infernal Bonds – July 8th 2016

Witch Infernal – August 5th 2016

Infernal Alliance – December 5th 2016

Stolen Ink – February 10th 2017

Reviews:

I’m adding this in here because seeing indie authors guilt-trip readers into leaving reviews makes me really cranky. Infernal Bonds achieved it’s 10th review sometime this week. Infernal Ties got it’s 20th review some time this week? Last week? Stolen Ink has around about 20 reviews.

Of those reviews, the vast majority are from paying readers who grabbed the book/s and left a review without a prompt from me. As you can see, money can be made from books without them hitting the supposed magic 50 reviews mark.

*End grumpy segment*

Average sales ranking:

I haven’t paid much attention to the Infernal Hunt books to be honest. They kinda stopped existing in my mind the moment Infernal Alliance was published. I believe they’ve been sitting around the 80k mark.

Stolen Ink has fluctuated between 5k – 11k overall on the Amazon store. It’s sat steadily in the top 100 of 8 sub-categories.

Promotion:

I’m broke. Moving country is super expensive. I believe the total spend on promotion was $120. They were booked some time ago because I wanted to avoid the dreaded 30 day cliff on Stolen Ink.

Stolen Ink went down to 99c for a weekend, and then Infernal Bonds went free for a weekend. They were each thrown onto promotion sites for those runs.

I chose to make Infernal Bonds free instead of Infernal Ties because Ties is a prequel novella and it’s far more of a bitch to promote that. To be completely honest. Readers can start the series with Bonds, and making Bonds free means that I tend to get a lot of sales on Ties too (as it’s perma 99c).

The cold hard data:

The sales are a mix of 99c and $2.99 as stated above with the promotions and all. All of Infernal Ties sales are 99c as that’s perma-99c.

I have to admit that I’m not entirely happy with those giveaway figures. I’m unsure quite what caused those to be lower than I’d expected. It could be placement of Bonds within the newsletter on the day. It could be that Bonds just didn’t resonate with what readers wanted on the day. Maybe those particular promo sites aren’t working as well as they used to. I honestly don’t know. The figures there aren’t as good as the last freebie run I did back in August, but, they were good enough to bump up sales and pay their way so to speak.

(If you think this is a far prettier and more useful way to view your KDP data you can get Book Report here, it’s free up until you earn $1k/month.)

 

 

The differences between the two series:

I outlined this in a previous post but I’ll put it here to make things simpler.

Infernal Hunt is a far more safe Urban Fantasy series. I love it, I had a lot of fun writing it, and readers seem to enjoy it. Don’t get me wrong, I’m proud of the series, but it was reasonably safe.

It follows a snarky, strong, female protagonist as she protects the city she loves from big bad supernatural creatures. It has a wonderfully sexy supernatural love interest. A snarky elf that I love to bits, a great female friendship, and so on. It’s safe. It’s good, familiar, Urban Fantasy.

Ink Born is my ‘fuck this I’m burnt out I’m writing the book I want to write’.

I desperately wanted to read about and write a tattoo magician for years. I kept looking and couldn’t find anything to satisfy that itch. Bring in Dacian.

I really wanted to write a huge fantasy kitchen sink world, something with everything in it. Cue the Ink world.

I’m a bi woman, my friends are part of the LGBT+ community, I grew up surrounded by the most amazing gay guys, so it was only natural that it ended up as an LGBT+ cast.

In short, Ink Born stands out from the crowd. I had a lot of people say they saw the words ‘gay tattoo magician’ and hit the buy button. That was all they needed to know.

Stolen Ink fills a couple of niches in the Urban Fantasy market that readers are desperate to be filled.

So there we have it. I hope this helps some people. I hope it gives some hope and insight to help some fellow indies achieved their goals and level up their publishing.

To say I’m excited about hitting this milestone is an understatement. It’s completely surreal to be honest. Thanks guys. Your love and support really does mean the world to me.

As I’m being mushy, I’m taking an extra minute to thank my dearest twin Mollie. She’s my rock and the most amazing person. My friends Miriam and Jen are absolutely incredible, they perk me up in the dark moments. I wouldn’t be doing this at all if it weren’t for S.M. Reine and her fantastic Urban Fantasy, and her support on Twitter. To say she’s a sweetheart doesn’t do her service. Of course we also have my long-suffering and insanely talented editor, Michael. He’s an absolute godsend and worth his weight in gold. Last, but certainly not least, is my husband. He’s my rock. He’s everything I dreamed of in a life partner and so much more.

Yes I know that sounds like an Oscars acceptance speech and nope I don’t care. I’m ill. I hit a milestone. I’m allowed dammit. 😛

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Earning Over $1k A Month: The Data.

  1. Hi Holly.

    First of all, may i wish you well. I hope you feel better as soon as possible.

    And second, thanks for sharing this information. It’s very encouraging. My own urban fantasy novella series sells maybe a book a week (at the moment) with occasional surges in page reads. But book three isn’t out yet and the books are novellas (25k a piece).

    But it is very encouraging to read of your success. More so because it is a kind of good but modest success, if you see what I mean. It’s not one of those, “X threw up a novel in the morning, chucked it at Amazon in the afternoon, and became a millionaire the next day” stories.

    It promises more, but seems achievable to anyone who puts in the work, learns their lessons, and tries again. So, for me, it’s a great inspiration!

    Thanks again. And once more; hey, take care of yourself and get well. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks, and you’re welcome! It’s great to see those huge successes but it can also be a bit draining. They’re the exception, so I’m glad to hear that my steady little progress has helped 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I looooooooooooooooove reading your processes. I find it so helpful when shaping my own pub stuff. Congrats, love! Here’s to more success in the future!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You deserve every success and more! You have been deeply inspirational to me, especially during the times my self doubt nearly stopped me writing all together. Maybe one day I’ll be on Amazon right next to you! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am so happy for you, Holly! All this success is so well deserved and so much more is deserved as well! I just finished Stolen Ink and it was fantastic! I am in awe of your talent & I can’t wait to see where you take us next.
    Take care of yourself my dear ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

