Fiction and Writing

The Difference A New Blurb Makes.

 

Last weekend (April 1st – 2nd) I participated in a huge author promotion with Stolen Ink. There were over 150 authors, each with a speculative fiction book priced at 99c. Everyone involved linked people to a page which was just the covers of each book. No blurb, just the covers.

That was a fantastic test of people’s covers. I’m pleased to say that Stolen Ink achieved the second highest number of clicks by a good margin. Unfortunately, it’s sell-through wasn’t quite as good.

The organiser of the group very nicely pointed out that my tag line (the opening line of the blurb) was difficult to parse. I admitted that’s an issue I was aware of but I’ve been too busy, and recently too ill, to update it.

I did however sit down and update it this week, and I have to say, there has been a marked difference in sales since.

This is the new blurb:

I’m Dacian, a tattoo magician. Life was pretty good. All I had to worry about was finding a pretty guy to fall into bed with at the end of the week. Then everything started to fall apart around me. Maybe I cursed the gods one too many times? Whatever happened, I now have two major problems.

Number one – I’m an ink magician, the thing of myths. A lot of very powerful people would love to get their hands on me, and I have no intention of letting that happen.

Number two – A tattoo thief came to my city, and the magical community has decided that I’m the guy to stop them.

Somehow, I have to catch the thief without letting my secret out of the bag, and that’s even harder than it sounds.

The opening is now clear and easy to understand. The tone maintains the relaxed very Dacian voice, and gives a good bit of information about Dacian and the story.

The average number of sales on Stolen Ink was 3, with about 3,000 pages read.

Since I updated the blurb that has jumped to an average of 10 sales, and it’s climbing by day. That has brought the average rank of Stolen Ink from 10k overall to 5k overall.

We’re always told that the blurb is really important. We have about 3 seconds to grab our potential readers. This is further evidence that your tag line is really important. Make sure it’s tight, interesting, and has something that will grab readers and make them read more.

As always I hope this helps my fellow indies make informed decisions that lead to you guys achieving your goals.

 

3 thoughts on “The Difference A New Blurb Makes.

Leave a Reply

